Volleyball Features Individual Award Winners

Go C-USA! <blank>

C-USA Volleyball Championship Notebook

Nov. 14, 2012

IRVING, Texas - All-American TYLER HENDERSON of Tulsa becomes the second player in league history to be named Conference USA Player of the Year for three consecutive seasons as the volleyball individual awards were announced today. Marshall's Kelly-Anne Billingy was the first (2005-07) to win three in a row.

Henderson's high school and college teammate, JESSICA ADAMS also repeats as C-USA's Libero of the Year. The duo has guided the Golden Hurricane to three-consecutive regular season titles and the No. 1 seed in this week's C-USA Volleyball Championship hosted by the University of Tulsa.

Henderson and Adams were also voted to the 2012 All-C-USA first team. The senior duo tops the C-USA charts in their respective statistical categories. Henderson leads the league with 5.09 kills and 5.58 points per set, figures that rank No. 2 and 3 in the NCAA this season. The outside hitter has led the conference in kills and points per set the past four seasons. She will depart C-USA as the league's all-time scorer with more than 2,500 points (5.55 pts./s) and will rank second in kills with currently 2,417 (5.24¬ k/s).

Adams has been equally impressive as she ranks third in league history in career digs with more than 2,300 to her credit and in digs per set, averaging 4.98. She is the only player in TU history with more than 500 digs in four consecutive seasons as she owns the school's all-time digs record. This season, she has 744 reception attempts and boasts a solid .980 reception percentage. Her 5.15 digs per set ranks her 46th best in the nation.

Redshirt junior MEGAN MURPHY of Rice was voted Setter of the Year after earning All-C-USA first team merits and averaging a conference-best 11.11 assists per set. She has guided the Owls to an overall record of 19-11 and the No. 2 seed in this week's tournament. Murphy's ball placement has the team hitting a solid .230 clip, second-best in the league. Early in the season, she established a C-USA record for most consecutive Setter of the Week Awards with four and ended the season with a total of five. She was the only player in the league to record a triple double as she registered 10 kills, 58 assists and 10 digs at UAB on Sept. 23. This marks Rice's second Setter of the Year honor as former Owl Meredith Schamun earned the honor alongside Southern Miss' Kelsea Seymour in 2009.



UAB earns its first Freshman of the Year in SAM SKINNER. The All-C-USA second teamer averaged a club-best 2.96 kills per set in C-USA play, a figure that ranks 13th in the league. Among the freshman class, she tops the charts in service aces (0.16) and points (3.20) per set plus ranks second in kills per set (2.68). The Blazers stand at 19-13 overall and earned the No. 4 seed in this week's tournament.

Earning his first Coach of the Year accolade is UTEP's KEN MURPHY. He has led the Miners to a fifth-place finish in the Conference USA standings, an improvement from its eighth-place tie (9-11) with Memphis a year ago. UTEP also sports an overall record of 16-12 and will be the No. 5 seed in the upcoming championship.

Henderson and Murphy were unanimous picks for the league's top honors. All awards were voted on by the conference's head coaches and coaches were not allowed to vote for their own players.


PLAYER OF THE YEAR -- Tyler Henderson, Tulsa / 5-10, Sr., OH / Oklahoma City, Okla. / Heritage Hall HS
SETTER OF THE YEAR -- Megan Murphy, Rice / 5-10, RJr., S / Plano, Texas / Plano West HS
LIBERO OF THE YEAR -- Jessica Adams, Tulsa / 5-7, Sr., L / Oklahoma City, Okla. / Heritage Hall HS
FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR -- Sam Skinner, UAB / 5-10, RFr., OH/MB / Birmingham, Ala. / Oak Mountain HS

C-USA Volleyball Individual Award Winners

More Headlines

Shop Now at the Official Online Store