C-USA Softball Championship Notebook

Go C-USA! Caitlin Attfield, UAB
Caitlin Attfield, UAB

May 8, 2013

IRVING, Texas - The Conference USA Softball Championship beings Thursday at the Collins Family Softball Complex on the campus of the University of Tulsa. The Championship will run May 9-11 with the final scheduled to be broadcast live on CBS Sports Network at 11 a.m. CDT. UAB earned its first No. 1 seed after finishing the league schedule with a 19-4 record. Houston is the No. 2 seed and host Tulsa is the No. 3 seed.

C-USA Softball Championship Notebook Get Acrobat Reader

Fans can access live video via the C-USA Digital Network, along with live stats and other information by visiting Championship Central.

C-USA Championship Schedule (all times CDT)

May 9 - All games available on the C-USA Digital Network

(2) Houston vs. (7) Memphis           Tulsa, Okla.    11 a.m.             

(3) Tulsa vs. (6) UCF                      Tulsa, Okla.    1:30 p.m.          

(1) UAB vs. (8) Southern Miss         Tulsa, Okla.    4:30 p.m.          

(4) Marshall vs. (5) East Carolina     Tulsa, Okla.    7 p.m.

May 10 - All games available on the C-USA Digital Network

Semifinal 1                                    Tulsa, Okla.    2 p.m.              

Semifinal 2                                    Tulsa, Okla.    4 p.m.              

May 11

Championship Game (CBS SN) Tulsa, Okla.       11 a.m.


Eight of the 13 C-USA Championship winners have come as part of a consecutive title streak.  Southern Miss won back-to-back crowns in 2000 and 2001 before DePaul won four straight (02-05). East Carolina won back-to-back Championships in 2010 and 2011.


It's good to be the top seed at the C-USA Softball Championship.  The No. 1 seed has won the tournament eight times in 13 years. The No. 2 seed has won the event on three occasions. East Carolina is the lowest seed to win the championship, entering as the No. 5 seed in 2011.

Winners by seed:

1 - 00, 02, 03, 06, 07, 09, 10, 12 (8)
2 - 01, 05, 08 (3)
4 - 04 (1)
5 - 05 (1)


The tournament host has won the title just three times in league history. Twice in Championship history has the host finished as the runner-up. The last host to win the title was East Carolina in 2011. Tulsa won the title in 2006, the only other time it has hosted the C-USA Softball Championship.        


Regular season champion UAB and No. 2 seed Houston both won seven of eight C-USA series this season. UAB swept five series, while Houston blanked four league opponents. C-USA Championship host Tulsa also posted five series sweeps this season.


How did the quarterfinalists fare against each other during the regular season?

Houston 3, at Memphis 0

   HOU 6, at MEM 0
   HOU 6, at MEM 0
   HOU 7, at MEM 4

at Tulsa 3, UCF 0

   at TLS 6, UCF 2
   at TLS 8, UCF 1
   at TLS 7, UCF 0

at UAB 3, Southern Miss 0

   at UAB 1, USM 0
   at UAB 6, USM 0
   at UAB 2, USM 0

East Carolina 3, at Marshall 0

   ECU 11, at MAR 1 (6)
   ECU 17, at MAR 6
   ECU 10, at MAR 4

Follow Us, Like Us

Fans can follow C-USA online on Twitter (@ConferenceUSA1) with the hashtag #CUSASB and on Facebook (facebook.com/ConferenceUSA).

 Follow your favorite C-USA softball team on Twitter:

East CarolinaHoustonMarshallMemphisSouthern MissTulsaUABUCFUTEPC-USA Softball




More Headlines

Shop Now at the Official Online Store