Soccer's Rathweg, Byrne Receive All-Conference Honors

Nov. 3, 2009


University of Houston defender Jessica Rathweg and forward Lauri Byrne received All-Conference USA honors, the league announced Tuesday afternoon.

For the second time in her career, Rathweg was named to the All-Conference Second Team. Rathweg is only the second Cougar to receive All-Conference honors for two consecutive seasons, joining Sophia Mundy. The Spring, Texas native has shown versatility throughout her career by anchoring the backline and contributing offensively as the top-scoring defender. This season was highlighted by her two goals in a win against McNeese State. Rathweg served as constant for the Cougars, starting every game this season and registering the most minutes on the field, other than the goal keeper.

Also receiving her second league honor, Byrne earned a spot on the All-Conference Third Team. Her first accolade came in 2007 when she made the All-Freshman Team. Byrne was a strong contributor for the Cougars by playing in every game this year with 16 starts. The Southlake, Texas native led the Cougars with 36 shots, including 16 on goal. Along with freshman Katelyn Rhodes, Byrne scored a team-high three goals this season. She saw her season best against Southern Miss when she tallied three shots on goal, picked up an assist and scored the game winning goal, the fourth of her career.


Offensive Player of the Year
Ashley Berra, Memphis

Defensive Player of the Year
Kelsey Bakker, Memphis

Midfielder of the Year
Becca Thomas, UCF

Freshman of the Year
Skye Schultz, UTEP

Coach of the Year
Amanda Cromwell, UCF

All-Conference USA First Team
F: Ashley Berra, Memphis
F: Tiffany Brown, Colorado College
F: Tameka Sumter, UTEP
F: Courtney Whidden, UCF
MF: Vendula Strnadova, Memphis
MF: Becca Thomas, UCF
MF:  Chelsea Winbush, UTEP
D: Kelsey Bakker, Memphis
D: Nikki Moore, UCF
D: Lauren Talbot, Colorado College
GK: Aline Reis, UCF

All-Conference USA Second Team
F: Erika Duncan, Marshall
F: Erin Scott, Rice
F: Tiffini Turpin, UAB
MF: Ericka Bear, Colorado College
MF: Molly Snead, Marshall
MF: Bailey Wilcox, East Carolina
D: Kayla Chambers, Tulsa
D: Kaitlyn Eidson, SMU
D: Jessica Rathweg, Houston
D: Marie Yempuku, UAB
GK: Elise Kuhar-Pitters, Memphis

All-Conference USA Third Team
F: Emily Beans, Colorado College
F: Lauri Byrne, Houston
F: Yvonne George, UCF
MF: Jennifer Kacergis, Tulsa
MF: Kristin Medeiros, SMU
MF: Jo Radcliffe, UTEP
MF: Shelley Wong, Rice
D: Amanda Broz, East Carolina
D: Bianca Joswiak, UCF
D: Katelyn Ostendorf, Rice
GK: Caitlin Hulyo, Colorado College

All-Conference USA Freshman Team
Brittney Lyman, F, Colorado College
Rachel Wechsler, MF, East Carolina
Sarah Vinson, MF, Marshall
Avery Hallman, F, Memphis
Taylor Isenhower, F, Memphis
Julia Barrow, MF, Rice
Mallory Baum, MF, SMU
Katie Bykowski, GK, Tulsa
Rachel Garcia, D, Tulsa
Bianca Joswiak, D, UCF
Nicolette Radovcic, F, UCF
Alex Brandt, MF/F, UCF
Skye Schultz, F, UTEP



More Headlines

Shop Now at the Official Online Store