Nine C-USA Rowers Receive All-Region Recognition

May 25, 2012

Nine Conference USA student-athletes were recognized by the Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association (CRCA) as among its 2012 Division I all-region award-winners. These awards recognize the outstanding performances of rowers and coxswains from each of the five regions, organized into first and second-team selections.

Tennessee, the 2012 Conference USA champion, placed three rowers on the South All-Region Team. Texas and Oklahoma each placed two, while Tulsa and UCF were also represented. This year's honorees are:

CRCA South All-Region First Team
Felicia Izaguirre-Werner, Texas
Erika Lauderdale, Tennessee
Chelsey Lauzon, UCF
Rebecca Staff, Oklahoma
Rachel White, Tennessee

CRCA South All-Region Second Team
Nikki Furmanek, Oklahoma
Erika Johnson, Tennessee
Laurel McCaig, Texas
Stephanie Rogers, Tulsa

Nominated student-athletes are evaluated on the strength of their team's regional finish, coaches recommendations and 2,000-meter erg score. Nominees must be eligible student-athletes who have competed in their teams' varsity boat in 75 percent of races this season.

These student-athletes will be eligible for All-America awards selection following the NCAA Rowing Championships.



More Headlines

Shop Now at the Official Online Store