Texas Wins 2011 C-USA Rowing Championship

May 14, 2011

OAK RIDGE, Tenn. - Texas earned the team title and Tennessee finished as runner-up in the 2011 Conference USA Women's Rowing Championship, held Saturday at Melton Hill Lake in Oak Ridge, Tenn.

Final Results in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

Texas swept the three scoring races of the championship: Varsity 8, Second Varsity 8 and Varsity 4 events on the 2,000-meter course. The Longhorns also won gold in the Novice 8 and silver in the Open 4.

Defending champion Tennessee earned runner-up honors after placing second in all three scoring events, while taking gold in the Open 4. Oklahoma finished third overall, with a bronze medal in the Second Varsity 8 race. UCF placed fourth and Tulsa finished fifth after bronze medals in the Varsity 8 and Varsity 4, respectively.

Texas head coach Carie Graves was named C-USA Coach of the Year. Senior Jennifer VanderMaarel earned All-Conference honors and was named the 2011 C-USA Rowing Athlete of the Year. Team captain VanderMaarel not only led the Varsity 8 team to the C-USA title, but also sat stroke seat in non-conference wins over Clemson, UCLA, Louisville, Wisconsin, Iowa and San Diego during the season.

"I am proud of this team for their depth, work ethic, cohesiveness and generosity toward one another," Graves said. "There are lots of ups and downs in a training cycle. The down times are tough and when you can work together with your teammates, you'll succeed as a team."

VanderMaarel was joined by senior teammates Tajana Lovric, Sally Tunell and Jelena Zunic. Texas freshman Sydney Boyes was named the 2011 C-USA Newcomer of the Year.

Joining the Longhorns on the all-conference team is a trio from Tennessee in junior Hilary Epes, sophomore Ashley Fichthorn and junior Erika Lauderdale. Oklahoma was represented by senior Kelsey Witten and sophomore Rebecca Staff. UCF junior Chelsey Lauzon was a repeat winner of all-conference honors. Alabama senior Alissa Kranz, Kansas senior Meagan Oven, Kansas State junior Traci Smiley, SMU freshman Courtaney Miller and Tulsa senior Heather Brooks rounded out the 2011 C-USA All-Conference Team.

This is the second C-USA Rowing Championship, but the first as a stand-alone event as last year's was held in conjunction with the Aramark South/Central Region Sprints. Selections of the NCAA Rowing Championship will be announced on Tuesday.

Team Standings
1. Texas - 48
2. Tennessee - 42
3. Oklahoma - 32
4. UCF - 31
5. Tulsa - 26
6. Kansas State - 16
7. Kansas - 14
8. SMU - 7

2011 C-USA Coach of the Year
Carie Graves, Texas

2010 C-USA Rowing Athlete of the Year
Jennifer VanderMaarel, Texas

2011 C-USA Newcomer of the Year
Sydney Boyes, Texas

2011 Rowing All-Conference USA Team
Jennifer VanderMaarel, Sr., Texas
Tajana Lovric, Sr., Texas
Sally Tunell, Sr., Texas
Jelena Zunic, Sr., Texas
Hilary Epes, Jr., Tennessee
Ashley Fichtorn, So., Tennessee
Erika Lauderdale, Jr., Tennessee
Rebecca Staff, So., Oklahoma
Kelsey Witten, Sr., Oklahoma
Alissa Kranz, Sr., Alabama
Meaghan Oven, Sr., Kansas
Traci Smiley, Jr., Kansas State
Courtaney Miller, Fr. SMU
Heather Brooks, Sr., Tulsa
Chelsey Lauzon, Jr., UCF

Varsity 8
Texas - 6:28.80
Tennessee - 6:29.26
UCF - 6:40.07

Second Varsity 8
Texas - 6:38.80
Tennessee - 6:43.60
Oklahoma -6:50.06

Varsity 4
Texas - 7:17.20
Tennessee - 7:19.18
Tulsa - 7:22.80

Novice 8
Texas - 6:43.50
Kansas -6:47.87
UCF - 6:52.17

Open 4
Tennessee A - 7:08.80
Texas - 7:13.41
Tennessee B - 7:22



More Headlines

Shop Now at the Official Online Store