Hello American Athletic Conference: We Are Memphis Women's Golf

July 15, 2013

Hello American Athletic Conference, We Are Memphis:

On July 1, the University of Memphis officially became a member of the American Athletic Conference. Beginning July 8, GoTigersGo.com brings a daily introduction of each sport at the University of Memphis to the American Athletic Conference. The sport schedule is below with links to previously featured programs.

FB - July 8

VB - July 11 Rifle - July 16 MBB - July 19 SFB - July 24

WSoc - July 9

MSoc - July 12 WBB - July 17 WTen - July 22 MTen - July 25

MGolf - July 10

WGolf - July 15 T&F - July 18 BSB - July 23 University - July 26


Conference Golfers of the Year

Memphis has seen two golfers earn Conference USA Golfer of the Year. Kim Hunt received the award in 1997 while Stacey Tate picked up the top league honor in 2006. 
2006 C-USA Golfer of the Year Stacey Tate

Conference Tournament Medalists

Since 1994, Memphis has had three golfers earn medalist honors at the conference tournament. Alison Bell (1994), Melissa Isham (1995) and Meaghan Francella (2001) picked up medalist honors in their respective seasons. 
Melissa Isham claimed Great Midwest Conference medalist honors at the 1995 event 

NGCA All-Scholar Team GPA Awards

Memphis has earned the National Golf Coaches Association (NGCA) All-Scholar Team GPA award three-straight seasons (2010, 2011, 2012).  
The Lady Tigers ranked eighth in all divisions of NCAA Women's Golf with a 3.711 GPA in 2012

Consecutive Years Recognized for APR

The women's golf program has been recognized by the NCAA for its Multi-Year APR in four-straight years. 
The trophy for the 2009-10 C-USA Team Academic Award

Conference Titles

Memphis has won five conference titles in its history. The Lady Tigers won three in a four year span (1994, 1995, 1997) and two titles since 2000 (2001, 2007). 
The 2007 C-USA Women's Golf Champions

NCAA Tournament Appearances

Memphis has played in a NCAA Regional in seven different seasons. Memphis appeared in the NCAA field for four-straight years (1996-1999) and advanced to the tournament in 2001 and 2002. The Lady Tigers last postseason bid came in the 2007 event.  
Photo of the 1997 NCAA Tournament team

Frank L. Flautt Golf Center

In 2009, Memphis Women's Golf moved to the state of the art Frank L. Flautt Golf Center. 
Coach Beth Harrelson discusses the impact of the Frank L. Flautt Golf Center
Video tour of the Frank L. Flautt Golf Center



More Headlines

Shop Now at the Official Online Store