2013 Women's Golf Championship Tees Off Monday

April 21, 2013

GULF SHORES, Ala. - Eleven women's golf teams, four ranked among the top 50 nationally, are set to tee off Monday morning as the 2013 Conference USA Women's Golf Championship gets underway at the Peninsula Golf and Racquet Club in Gulf Shores, Ala. 

Live Stats/Tee Times

Championship Central

The championship consists of 54 holes on a par 72, 6,246-yard course spanning three days, with the winning team receiving an automatic berth into the NCAA Regionals. This is the third straight year that the tournament has been hosted at the Peninsula Golf and Racquet Club.

With seeding based on the current Golfstat team rankings, it was determined that Old Dominion, Tulsa and East Carolina would begin Monday on the first hole at 7:45 a.m.

East Carolina currently is ranked No. 47 by Golfstat, the fourth-highest C-USA team, and finished in sixth place at last year’s Championship. Tulsa is ranked 63rd entering the event and is the defending champion. The Golden Hurricane won last year’s title by 13 strokes and welcomes back one of its three top-10 finishers, Kristina Merkle (5th in 2012).

Old Dominion will be playing in its first C-USA Women’s Golf Championship and is currently 71st in the Golfstat rankings and has eight top-three finishes in tournaments this season.

Tulane, SMU and UCF – the top-three seeds at this year’s championship – will tee off from the first hole beginning at 8:35 a.m. CDT. Tulane, last year’s third-place finisher, enters the championship ranked 20th in the nation and boasts defending individual medalist Maribel Lopez Porras. The Green Wave boast five top-three team finishes this season.

SMU has three team title this season and one runner-up finish to go along with a national ranking of No. 33. The Mustangs’ return last season’s C-USA runner-up, Felicia Espericueta, who will tee off at 9:15 a.m. along with UCF’s Monifa Sealy (6th in 2012) and Lopez Porras. UCF is No. 42 in the latest Golfstat rankings and was the 2012 C-USA runners-up.

Southern Miss, Memphis and UTEP will tee off from hole No. 10 at 7:45 a.m. as seeds 7-10. Memphis tied for fourth place at last season’s Championship.

UAB and Marshall will combine to form the final pairings of the opening round and will tee off from hole 10 at 8:35 a.m. Marshall’s Korakot Simsiriwong tied for seventh at last season’s championship and will tee off as part of the final twosome of the day with UAB’s Caitlin Watts, who also tied for 7th at last year’s event.

Action is slated to begin at 7:45 a.m. each day of the Championship. Live scoring of this year's C-USA Women's Golf Championship will be provided by Golfstat and can be accessed here



More Headlines

Shop Now at the Official Online Store