Women's Basketball 2012 Specialty Awards Announced


March 5, 2012

IRVING, Texas - Memphis seniors JASMINE LEE and RAMSES LONLACK were once again key reasons why Memphis put together another 20-win season and finished second in the Conference USA race. Now, the duo has been recognized as two of the best players in C-USA this season.

Lee, a 6-2 post from Bessemer, Ala., was named the 2012 C-USA Player of the Year in a vote by the league's coaches, sports information directors and a select media panel. This was after Lee finished the regular season as one of two players in the league that accounted for a double-double with averages of 15.2 points and 10 rebounds per game. The power post also shot 51.1 percent from the floor, fourth-best in C-USA.

Lonlack was coach Melissa McFerrin's first recruit at Memphis, and the 5-8 senior has long been viewed as one of the league's best defensive players. This year, the guard from Bertoua, Cameroon, pocketed 53 steals overall and averaged 2.0 thefts per game. She ranks third in school history with 292 steals and sixth in C-USA history.

Tulane's DANIELLE BLAGG was voted the league's Freshman of the Year after a stellar initial season. The 5-11 guard from San Antonio, Texas, averaged 7.7 points and shot 30 percent from the floor. She scored a season-high 22 points in the upset win over then-nationally-ranked LSU and was named the league's Freshman of the Week four times.

Southern Miss junior transfer TANECKA CAREY arrived on campus from Jones County Junior College and made an instant impact, earning her C-USA Newcomer of the Year honors. The 5-9 guard from Jackson, Miss., ranked fifth in the league with a 15.2 point per game average and seventh in 3-point shooting, hitting .323.

UTEP's GLORIA BROWN won C-USA Sixth Player of the Year for the second-consecutive season. She averaged 11.5 points and 8.8 rebounds in 19.7 minutes per game while coming off the bench for the Miners. Brown ranks 15th in the league in both categories and tops the chart with a 2.9 blocked shot average, 85 overall on the season.



UTEP's KEITHA ADAMS was named the C-USA Coach of the Year for the second time. The Miners captured the league championship with a 15-1 record and finished the regular season 26-3 overall. Adams has given the UTEP program two C-USA regular season titles in the last five years.

The 2012 Conference USA Basketball Championships get underway on Wednesday, March 7. The women's first and second round games will be played at the Elma Roane Fieldhouse on Memphis' campus while the men's games will take place at the FedExForum in downtown. For ticket information call 901-678-2331 or log onto www.gotigers.com.

Player of the Year
Jasmine Lee, RS-Sr., P, Memphis

Freshman of the Year
Danielle Blagg, G, Tulane

Defensive Player of the Year
Ramses Lonlack, Sr., G, Memphis

Sixth Player of the Year
Gloria Brown, Sr., F, UTEP

Newcomer of the Year
Tanecka Carey, Jr., G, Southern Miss

Coach of the Year
Keitha Adams, UTEP

More Headlines

Shop Now at the Official Online Store