C-USA Men's Tennis All-Conference Awards

April 30, 2013

IRVING, Texas - The 2013 Men's Tennis All-Conference USA Singles and Doubles teams were announced Tuesday, along with the specialty award winners. Conference champion Memphis led the way with four individual award winners, three All-Conference singles selections and two doubles squads earning recognition. Tulsa followed with three singles honorees and one doubles team.

Sophomore CONNOR GLENNON of Memphis picks up the program's first C-USA Tennis Player of the Year honor after finishing the regular season with an overall record of 11-6 and 10-6 at the No. 1 singles position. He also was named to the All-C-USA Singles first team and earned second team All-C-USA Doubles merits with partner CEDRIC DE ZUTTER.

Memphis head coach PAUL GOEBEL was voted the Coach of the Year for the second consecutive season after guiding the No. 32 Tigers to the program's first C-USA Championship title; second NCAA Championship appearance and an overall record of 14-7.

Picking up the program's first C-USA Newcomer of the Year award is redshirt-sophomore FRANCESC AULINA of UCF. A transfer from Virginia Tech, Aulina went 13-5 with the Knights this season. He won his last three matches and eight of his last nine.

DOMINIK KOEPFER of Tulane earns the program's fourth overall Freshman of the Year honor and first since 2004. He finished the season 17-4, including an 8-0 performance at No. 3 singles. He also was named to the All-C-USA Singles second team.

Memphis junior JOHNNY GRIMAL was voted the C-USA Outstanding Singles Player of the Championship while juniors JOE SALISBURY and DAVID O'HARE collected the C-USA Outstanding Doubles Team of the Championship. Grimal defeated Philipp Seifert of Rice, 6-3, 6-4, before upsetting Alejandro Espejo of Tulsa, 6-2, 3-6, 6-4, during championship action. All-C-USA Doubles first team honorees, Salisbury and O'Hare teamed up for an 8-6 victory over Tommy Bennett and Adam Gustafsson of Rice and an 8-4 win over Tulsa's Clifford Marsland and Alejandro Espejo. Grimal and Salisbury also appear on the All-C-USA Singles second team.



East Carolina's No. 65 duo of JORAN VLIEGEN and COLIN ROLLER and Tulsa's top doubles team of CLIFFORD MARSLAND and ALEJANDRO ESPEJO completes the 2013 All-C-USA Doubles first team. In addition, Vliegen and Marsland also picked up All-C-USA Singles first team honors. Vliegen completed the season with an overall and No. 1 singles record of 19-2, which included a 17-match winning streak. Marsland is currently on a 10-match winning streak and sports an overall performance of 17-3.

Tulsa junior JAPIE DE KLERK, SMU sophomore ARTURS KAZIJEVS and Old Dominion sophomore CARLOS LOPEZ VILLA completes the All-C-USA Singles first team. The trio ranks among the ITA top 125 singles players and were automatic selections to the league's first team with Marsland, who's ranked No. 48.

De Klerk, the 2011 C-USA Freshman of the Year, appears at No. 42 in the latest ITA Poll and is a repeat selection to the first team as he currently sports a singles record of 13-7 for the No. 25 Golden Hurricane. Kazijevs, 2012 C-USA Co-Freshman of the Year, is ranked No. 119 in singles with a 14-5 record at the top spot. He repeats his All-C-USA Doubles second team honors but moves up a team in singles from a year ago. In his first season with the league, Lopez Villa earns first team in singles and second team in doubles as well as being named C-USA Athlete of the Week twice. He finished with an impressive 18-1 record at No. 1 singles and carries an ITA ranking of No. 101.

The entire 2013 All-Conference USA selections and Specialty Award Winners can be seen below:

First Team
Joran Vliegen, East Carolina
Connor Glennon, Memphis
Carlos Lopez Villa, Old Dominion
Arturs Kazijevs, SMU
Japie De Klerk, Tulsa
Clifford Marsland, Tulsa

Second Team*
Joe Salisbury, Memphis
Johnny Grimal, Memphis
Jonathan Chang, Rice
Dominik Koepfer, Tulane
Carlos Bautista, Tulsa
David Zimmerman, UAB
Jorge Blasco, UCF

*due to a tie the second team is seven members instead of six.

First Team
Joran Vliegen/Colin Roller, East Carolina
Joe Salisbury/David O'Hare, Memphis
Clifford Marsland/Alejandro Espejo, Tulsa

Second Team
Connor Glennon/Cedric De Zutter, Memphis
Can Cetinel/Carlos Lopez Villa, Old Dominion
Arturs Kazijevs/Mischa Nowicki, SMU

Connor Glennon, Memphis

Dominik Koepfer, Tulane

Francesc Aulina, UCF

Paul Goebel, Memphis

Johnny Grimal, Memphis

Joe Salisbury/David O'Hare, Memphis

More Headlines

Shop Now at the Official Online Store