C-USA Men's Soccer All-Conference Teams Announced

Nov. 6, 2012

IRVING, Texas - Conference USA announced its all-conference first, second and third teams as well as its postseason individual specialty awards for men's soccer, as selected by the league's nine head coaches. 

Seven C-USA schools are represented on the first team, including co-Players of the Year in goalkeepers Jaime Ibarra of SMU and Daniel Withrow of Marshall. Ibarra led the league in goals against average (0.75), save percentage (0.880) and tied for the lead in shutouts (4) during C-USA play and is tied with Withrow in saves (44). In all games, Withrow paced league players in goals against average (0.52), save percentage (0.895) and shutouts (9.5), while Ibarra topped the save chart (88). Ibarra is the second SMU player to win Player of the Year honors (Arthur Ivo, 2010), while Withrow is the first Marshall player to claim the award.



SMU head coach Tim McClements was named Coach of the Year after guiding his team to an outright regular season championship and the No. 1 seed at the C-USA tournament. The Mustangs have been ranked as high as No. 14 in the NSCAA poll this season and put together a nine-match unbeaten streak that lasted more than a month.

Other specialty award winners include Memphis striker Mark Sherrod, last season's Player and Offensive Player of the Year, and Tulsa's Cristian Mata, who was named Freshman of the Year. In addition to the shared Player of the Year honor, Ibarra was tabbed as the conference's Defensive Player of the Year.

Sherrod is the second player to repeat as Offensive Player of the Year, joining SMU's Bruno Guarda (2006-07). During conference matches, Sherrod is the league's top goal scorer (8), the leader in points (17) and shots (48). He has 28 points for the season (12 goals, 4 assists) and has posted a league-best 84 shots. 

Mata is the second-straight and third Tulsa player to be named C-USA's top freshman. Mata is the nation's leading freshman scorer, averaging 1.75 points per match. He is second nationally among freshman in total points (28) and goals (12). Among conference players, Mata ranks in the top five in shots (t4th, 55), points (2nd, 28), goals (t2nd, 12) and game winning goals (t1st, 5). Mata is the lone freshman to earn first team honors this season.

In addition to Withrow, Ibarra, Sherrod and Mata, the C-USA All-Conference First Team features the league-leader in goals (13) Deshorn Brown of UCF and repeat first-team honorees midfielder Liam Collins of Memphis and defender Andrew Quintana of UCF.

Kentucky midfielder Matt Lodge and defender Steven Perinovic were selected to the first team, as was UAB defender Mladen Lemez and Tulsa's Omar Mata.  The Mata brothers are the first pair of brothers to make the All-C-USA First Team during the same season.

Six teams are preparing for the 18th C-USA Men's Soccer Championship, which is scheduled to begin Wednesday, Nov. 7 at Regions Park in Hoover, Ala. Top seed SMU is the defending champion. The title match will be held Sunday, Nov. 11 at 1 p.m. CST and will be televised live by CBS Sports Network. The opening round and semifinal matches can been seen on the C-USA Digital Network.


A complete list of the three all-conference team selections, all freshman team and specialty award winners follow:



Coach of the Year: Tim McClements, SMU

Players of the Year: Jaime Ibarra, SMU/Daniel Withrow, Marshall

Offensive Player of the Year: Mark Sherrod, Memphis

Defensive Player of the Year: Jaime Ibarra, SMU

Freshman of the Year: Cristian Mata, Tulsa


All-Conference USA First Team

GK Daniel Withrow, Marshall

GK Jaime Ibarra, SMU

F Mark Sherrod, Memphis

F Cristian Mata, Tulsa

F Deshorn Brown, UCF

M Matt Lodge, Kentucky

M Liam Collins, Memphis

M Omar Mata, Tulsa

D Steven Perinovic, Kentucky

D Mladen Lemez, UAB

D Andrew Quintana, UCF


All-Conference USA Second Team

GK Jack Van Arsdale, Kentucky

F Quentin Albrecht, FIU

F Tom Jackson, Marshall

F Tyler Engel, SMU

F Bradlee Baladez, South Carolina

F Kofi Gyawu, UAB

M Cameron Wilder, Kentucky

M T.J. Nelson, SMU

M Braeden Troyer, South Carolina

D Damien Rosales, SMU

D Aaron Simmons, SMU

D Darion Copeland, UAB

D Reed Matte, UAB

D Ben Hunt, UCF


All-Conference USA Third Team

GK Mark Pais, Tulsa

F Tyler Riggs, Kentucky

M Daniel Gonzalez, FIU

M Devin Perkins, Marshall

M Andrew Morales, SMU

M Chase Wickham, UAB

M Fatai Alabi, UAB

M Omar Vallejo, UCF

D Joseph Dawkins, FIU

D Anthony Hobbs, FIU

D Dylan Asher, Kentucky

D Jordan Johnson, Memphis

D Mike Mangotic, South Carolina

D Tony Rocha, Tulsa


C-USA All-Freshman Team

GK Robin Spiegel, FIU

F Cristian Mata, Tulsa

F Bryce Follensbee, Tulsa

F Karl Chester, UAB

F Ian Svantesson, UAB

M Daniel Gonzalez, FIU

M Quincy Thomas, Memphis

M John Lujano, SMU

D Jacob Speed, Kentucky

D Jack Hopkins, Marshall

D Michael King, SMU

D Bradley Bourgeois, Tulsa


Follow Us, Like Us

Fans can follow C-USA online on Twitter (@ConferenceUSA1) with the hashtag #CUSAMSOC and on Facebook (facebook.com/ConferenceUSA).


Follow your favorite C-USA men's soccer team on Twitter:

FIU || Kentucky || Marshall || Memphis || SMU || South Carolina || Tulsa || UAB || UCF || C-USA Men's Soccer


More information about your favorite team can be found on the school websites:

FIU ,, Kentucky ,, Marshall ,, Memphis ,, SMU ,, South Carolina ,, Tulsa ,, UAB ,, UCF

More Headlines

Shop Now at the Official Online Store