C-USA Announces All-Freshman Team

Go C-USA! Nico Marley
Nico Marley

Dec. 10, 2013

AllFreshmanRelease Get Acrobat Reader

Conference USA has announced its 2013 All-Freshman football team, as selected by the league's 14 head football coaches. East Division Champion Marshall produced a league-high five players on the team, while East Carolina, Louisiana Tech and Southern Miss each had three players selected to the league's freshman squad. All told, 12 C-USA teams were represented on the all-freshman squad.

Marshall's five selections included four defensive members. Defensive lineman Gary Thompson, the Dec. 2 C-USA Defensive Player of the Week after he had two interceptions in a division-clinching win over East Carolina, is joined by linebacker Stefan Houston (38 tackles, 5.5 TFLs), free safety A.J. Leggett (42 tackles, team-high three interceptions) and defensive back Corey Tindal (55 tackles, six pass breakups, two fumble recoveries). The Thundering Herd's offensive selection was guard/center Michael Selby.

East Carolina, Louisiana Tech and Southern Miss each placed a trio of members on the All-Freshman squad. Wide receiver Isaiah Jones was second on the team with 54 catches for 556 yards and five touchdowns and he is joined by defensive lineman Demetri McGill and linebacker Dayon Pratt as the Pirates honorees. Defensive back Xavier Woods (61 tackles, three TFLs), kicker Kyle Fischer (league-best 18 field goals) and kick returner Tevin King (28.8 yard average) represent the Bulldogs. Quarterback Nick Mullens, who closed out the year by tying the school record with five TD passes in a win at UAB, is joined by Golden Eagles wide receiver Tyre'oune Holmes (team-high 53 catches for 410 yards) and offensive lineman Cameron Tom on the unit.

FIU, Middle Tennessee, North Texas and Tulsa each produced a pair of players on the rookie team. Panthers tight end Jonnu Smith (leads all C-USA freshmen tight ends with 39 catches for 388 yards) and is joined by offensive lineman Jordan Budwig. The Blue Raiders are represented by offensive lineman Josh Chester and defensive lineman Jimal McBride (23 tackles, five tackles for loss). Mean Green offensive lineman Kaydon Kirby and punter Blake Macek (40.8 yard average and 24 kicks inside the 20-yard line) were the choices from North Texas. The Golden Hurricane listed offensive lineman Dylan Foxworth and defensive back Darnell Walker (52 tackles and four interceptions).

Rounding out the All-Freshman selections are Tulane linebacker Nico Marley (59 tackles), UAB running back Jordan Howard (second among all FBS freshmen with 881 rushing yards), UTEP running back Aaron Jones (fifth among all FBS freshmen with 811 rushing yards despite playing just nine games) and UTSA defensive lineman Codie Brooks (34 tackles, five sacks, four pass breakups).

The league's individual awards will be released Wednesday, December 11. Conference USA will conclude the 2013 season by sending six teams to bowl games.



QB - Nick Mullens, Southern Miss
RB - Jordan Howard, UAB
RB - Aaron Jones, UTEP
OL - Jordan Budwig, FIU
OL - Josh Chester, Middle Tennessee
OL - Dylan Foxworth, Tulsa
OL - Kaydon Kirby, North Texas
OL - Michael Selby, Marshall
OL - Cameron Tom, Southern Miss
TE - Jonnu Smith, FIU
WR - Isaiah Jones, East Carolina
WR - Tyre'oune Holmes, Southern Miss


DL - Codie Brooks, UTSA
DL - Jimal McBride, Middle Tennessee
DL - Demetri McGill, East Carolina
DL - Gary Thompson, Marshall
LB - Stefan Houston, Marshall
LB - Nico Marley, Tulane
LB - Dayon Pratt, East Carolina
DB - A.J. Leggett, Marshall
DB - Corey Tindal, Marshall
DB - Darnell Walker, Tulsa
DB - Xavier Woods, Louisiana Tech


K - Kyle Fischer, Louisiana Tech
P - Blake Macek, North Texas
KR - Tevin King, Louisiana Tech



More Headlines

Shop Now at the Official Online Store