Two C-USA Players Named Walter Camp All-Americans

Go C-USA! Danny Hrapmann
Danny Hrapmann

Dec. 10, 2010

Conference USA had two players that were named to the 2010 Walter Camp Football Foundation All-American team, as announced by the organization. Southern Miss junior K Danny Hrapmann was named a first team selection, while Rice junior P Kyle Martens was named to the second team.

Earlier this week, both players were named first-team All-Conference USA. Martens was also recently named a first team All-American by the American Football Coaches Association, while Hrapmann earned second team honors on Thursday from

Hrapmann became the first Golden Eagle to earn this distinction since Ray Guy collected first-team honors by the organization as a punter in 1972. That was the first year the Walter Camp Awards selected a punter. The junior, from New Orleans, La., converted 26-of-30 field goals during the year and connected on all 51 extra points. He established school single-season marks for field goals and extra points made as well as kick scoring (129). Hrapmann added 8-of-11 field goals from 40 yards or beyond including a career-best 54-yard attempt against UAB, which is tied for the third longest field goal in school history. He also established a single-game record at Southern Miss by converting five field goals against East Carolina. Currently, Hrapmann ranks tied for No. 1 in the country in field goals per game (2.17) and fifth in scoring (10.75).

Martens set a school record by averaging 46 yards per punt this season, which led Conference USA and ranks fourth in the country heading into the bowl season. He placed 42% of his punts inside the 20 (22 of 52), bettering his previous best effort of 14 of 52 in 2008. Half of his 22 punts inside the 20 were downed at or inside the 10 (11 of 22) and 64% of those punts inside the 10 were down at or inside the three (7 of 11). He also averaged 51 yards on five punts from inside the Owls' 18 yard line.

Walter Camp, "The Father of American football," first selected an All-America team in 1889. Camp - a former Yale University athlete and football coach - is also credited with developing play from scrimmage, set plays, the numerical assessment of goals and tries and the restriction of play to eleven men per side. The Walter Camp Football Foundation - a New Haven-based all-volunteer group - was founded in 1967 to perpetuate the ideals of Camp and to continue the tradition of selecting annually an All-America team.



The Walter Camp Football Foundation is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game's predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients. Visit

More Headlines

Shop Now at the Official Online Store