C-USA Announces Football All-Conference Teams

Go C-USA! Vinny Curry
Vinny Curry

Dec. 6, 2011

2011FBAllConferenceTeams Get Acrobat Reader

Conference USA announced its 2011 All-Conference football teams today, as selected by the league's 12 head football coaches. All 12 schools were represented with at least two overall selections and 10 placed at least one player on first team. West Division champion Houston produced the most total selections with 12 and the Cougars, along with SMU, had the most first team choices with six. Bowl-bound teams Tulsa and Southern Miss ranked second and third in total selections with the Golden Hurricane producing nine and the Golden Eagles placing eight.

The Cougars' first team selections include five on its nation-leading offense. Record-setting quarterback Case Keenum (383-of-534 for 5,099 yards and 45 TD passes) is joined by running back Charles Sims (team-high 782 rushing yards, 545 receiving yards and 13 total touchdowns), wide receiver Patrick Edwards (79 catches for 1,524 yards and a nation-leading 18 receiving touchdowns), tight end Justin Johnson (75 receptions for 1,081 yards) and offensive lineman Chris Thompson in earning first team honors. Linebacker Sammy Brown (88 tackles, nation-leading 28 TFL's and 12.5 sacks) represents UH on the first team defense.

SMU has four first-teamers from its offense and two from its defense. Junior RB Zach Line earned a place after leading the league in rushing for the second straight season (1,224 yards) and scoring a league-best 17 touchdowns in just 10 games before suffering a season-ending injury. Senior OL Kelvin Beachum, who helped pave the way for Line to gain those yards, was listed along with a pair of wide receivers in senior Cole Beasley (79 catches for 954 yards, a league-high 7.2 receptions per game) and junior Darius Johnson (72 receptions for 998 yards and seven TDs).

Tulsa's first team all-league choices include one each on offense, two on defense and one on special teams. A quartet of seniors represent the Golden Hurricane, including OL Clint Anderson, DL Tyrunn Walker (8 sacks and 12.5 tackles for loss), LB Curnelius Arnick (second in C-USA with 142 tackles) and K Kevin Fitzpatrick (15-of-17 field goals, 93 points).

Southern Miss also had one offensive, two defensive and one special teams selection. Senior OL Lamar Holmes is joined by senior DL Cordarro Law (the nation's active leader in career tackles for loss and has 17.5 TFL's this season), senior DB Marquese Wheaton (55 tackles, three interceptions, one INT return for a touchdown and two fumbles returned for TDs) and senior PR Tracy Lampley (12.1 yards per return and one return for a touchdown).

Marshall and UCF each had a pair of first team choices. The Thundering Herd is represented by senior DL Vinny Curry (11 sacks, second in the nation with 21 tackles for loss, 72 total tackles, league-high six forced fumbles) and senior DB Omar Brown (107 tackles, four interceptions, three forced fumbles). The Knights list junior DB Josh Robinson (48 tackles, league-high 17 pass breakups, two interceptions, one INT return for a TD) on first team and KR Rannell Hall (league-high 31.0 yards per return), the lone freshman among the first teamers.

UAB senior OL Matt McCants, Tulane junior LB Trent Mackey, Rice senior P Kyle Martens and UTEP LS Matt Camilli round out the first team selections.

The league's individual awards will be released on Wednesday, December 7. Conference USA will conclude the 2011 season by sending five teams to bowl games, including two teams that are ranked in the top 20.



OFFENSE QB- Case Keenum, Sr., Houston RB- Zach Line, Jr., SMU RB- Charles Sims, So., Houston OL- Clint Anderson, Sr., Tulsa OL- Kelvin Beachum, Sr., SMU OL- Lamar Holmes, Sr., Southern Miss OL- Matt McCants, Sr., UAB OL- Chris Thompson, Sr., Houston TE- Justin Johnson, Sr., Houston WR- Cole Beasley, Sr., SMU WR- Patrick Edwards, Sr., Houston WR- Darius Johnson, Jr., SMU

DEFENSE DL- Vinny Curry, Sr., Marshall DL- Tyrunn Walker, Sr., Tulsa DL- Cordarro Law, Sr., Southern Miss DL- Taylor Thompson, Sr., SMU LB- Curnelius Arnick, Sr., Tulsa LB- Sammy Brown, Sr., Houston LB- Trent Mackey, Jr., Tulane DB- Omar Brown, Sr., Marshall DB- Richard Crawford, Sr., SMU DB- Marquese Wheaton, Sr., Southern Miss DB- Josh Robinson, Jr., UCF

SPECIAL TEAMS K- Kevin Fitzpatrick, Sr., Tulsa P- Kyle Martens, Sr., Rice KR- Rannell Hall, Fr., UCF PR- Tracy Lampley, Sr., Southern Miss LS- Matt Camilli, Sr., UTEP


OFFENSE QB- Austin Davis, Sr., Southern Miss QB- G.J. Kinne, Sr., Tulsa RB- Orleans Darkwa, So., Tulane RB- Ja'Terian Douglas, So., Tulsa OL- Jacoby Ashworth, Jr., Houston OL- Joe Duhon, Jr., Southern Miss OL- Ron Leary, Sr., Memphis OL- Nick Pieschel, Sr., UCF OL- Jason Weaver, Sr., Southern Miss TE- Clay Sears, Sr., Tulsa WR-Tyron Carrier, Sr., Houston WR-Willie Carter, Jr., Tulsa WR-Lance Lewis, Sr., East Carolina

DEFENSE DL- Marquis Frazier, Sr., SMU DL- Dezman Moses, Sr., Tulane DL- Dontari Poe, Jr., Memphis DL- Scott Solomon, Sr., Rice LB- Ja'Gared Davis, Sr., SMU LB- Marcus McGraw, Sr., Houston LB- Taylor Reed, Jr., SMU DB- Jamie Bender, Sr., UAB DB- Emanuel Davis, Jr., East Carolina DB- D.J. Hayden, Jr., Houston DB- Dexter McCoil, Jr., Tulsa

SPECIAL TEAMS K- Danny Hrapmann, Sr., Southern Miss P- Ian Campbell, Jr., UTEP KR- Tyron Carrier, Sr., Houston PR- Patrick Edwards, Sr., Houston LS- Charley Hughlett, Sr., UCF


OFFENSE RB- Michael Hayes, Sr., Houston RB- Tyler Smith, Sr., Rice RB- Trey Watts, So., Tulsa RB- Joe Banyard, Sr., UTEP OL- Kevin Forsch, So., Houston OL- Ryan Tillman, Sr., Marshall OL- Bryce Tennison, Sr., SMU OL- Kelly Turner, Sr., SMU OL- Harris Howard, Sr., Tulane OL- Tyler Holmes, Sr., Tulsa OL- Chris Hubbard, Jr., UAB OL- Theo Goins, Jr., UCF OL- Jordan Rae, Jr., UCF OL- Nathan McCage, Sr., UTEP OL- Eloy Atkinson, Jr., UTEP TE- Luke Willson, Jr., Rice TE- Adam Nissley, Sr., UCF WR- Aaron Dobson, Jr., Marshall WR- Tannar Rehrer, Sr., Memphis WR- Ryan Balentine, Sr., Southern Miss WR- Kelvin Bolden, Sr., Southern Miss WR- Tracy Lampley, Sr., Southern Miss WR- Jackie Williams, So., UAB

DEFENSE DL- Frank Trotter, Sr., Memphis DL- Torian Pittman, Jr., SMU DL- Margus Hunt, Jr., SMU DL- Cory Dorris, Jr., Tulsa DL- Elliott Henigan, Sr., UAB DL- Victor Gray, So., UCF DL- Bernard Obi, Sr., UTEP LB- Jeremy Grove, Fr., East Carolina LB- Cameron Nwosu, So., Rice LB- Jamie Collins, Jr., Southern Miss LB- Ronnie Thornton, Sr., Southern Miss LB- Shawn Jackson, So., Tulsa LB- Isaiah Carter, Sr., UTEP DB- Paul Porras, So., Rice DB- Bryce Callahan, Fr., Rice DB- Chris Banjo, Sr., SMU DB- Kendrick Presley, Sr., Southern Miss DB- Ryan Travis, Jr., Tulane DB- Milton Howell, Sr., Tulsa DB- Marco Nelson, So., Tulsa DB- Kemal Ishmael, Jr., UCF DB- Antwon Blake, Sr., UTEP

SPECIAL TEAMS K- Matt Hogan, Jr., Houston K- Chris Boswell, So., Rice K- Ty Long, Fr., UAB P- Richie Leone, So., Houston P- Tom Hornsey, So., Memphis KR- Vernon Frazier, Sr., UTEP PR- Richard Crawford, Sr., SMU PR- Derrick Strozier, So., Tulane LS- Tyson Gale, Sr., Marshall LS- Creighton Nelms, Sr., Southern Miss LS- Bo Abbott, Sr., Tulsa



More Headlines

Shop Now at the Official Online Store