C-USA Announces Football All-Freshman Team

Go C-USA! Austin Brown, UAB
Austin Brown, UAB

Dec. 4, 2012

IRVING, Texas - Conference USA has announced its 2012 All-Freshman football team, as selected by the league's 12 head football coaches. Marshall, Rice and C-USA Champion Tulsa each placed four players on the team, while Houston and Memphis both had three players selected to the league's freshman squad. All told, 11 C-USA teams were represented on the all-freshman squad.

Marshall's quartet features running back Kevin Grooms, who led C-USA freshmen in rushing and scored nine touchdowns, offensive lineman Cameron Dees, linebacker D.J. Hunter, who posted 102 total tackles, and punter Tyler Williams, who posted the best punting average among all FBS freshmen.

Rice's four honorees include running back Luke Turner, offensive lineman Caleb Williams, defensive lineman Christian Covington and punt returner Dennis Parks.

C-USA champion Tulsa received four selections. Defensive lineman Derrick Alexander and linebacker Trent Martin are joined on the All-Freshman team by kicker Daniel Schwarz and long snapper Rey Higuera.

Houston wide receivers Deontay Greenberry and Larry McDuffey are joined on the team by defensive back Trevon Stewart, who recorded 126 total tackles and a sack, on the team.  

UAB quarterback Austin Brown earned the All-Freshman nod after leading all league freshman passers in yards, touchdowns and efficiency. Blazers' offensive lineman Cameron Blankenship also earned recognition.

Tulane defensive back Lorenzo Doss intercepted five passes to tie for the league lead, while his defensive backfield mate Darion Monroe also earned a spot on the All-Freshman team after posting 60 solo tackles, 96 total tackles and recovering three fumbles.

UCF wide receiver Breshad Perriman and defensive lineman Deion Green were joined by UTEP kick returner Autrey Golden, who ranked third in the league with a 28.3 yard per return average.          

Memphis offensive lineman Taylor Fallin, tight end Alan Cross and defensive lineman Ricky Hunter represent the Tigers. East Carolina Montese Overton is the Pirates' representative, while SMU defensive back Shakiel Randolph and offensive lineman Taylor Lasecki round out the team.

Conference USA will announce its Freshman of the Year, along with its other players of the year, Wednesday, Dec. 5.

2012 C-USA All-Freshman Team                      


  • QB       Austin Brown, UAB
  • RB        Kevin Grooms, Marshall
  • RB        Luke Turner, Rice
  • OL        Cameron Dees, Marshall
  • OL        Taylor Fallin, Memphis
  • OL        Caleb Williams, Rice
  • OL        Taylor Lasecki, SMU
  • OL        Cameron Blankenship, UAB
  • TE        Alan Cross, Memphis
  • WR       Deontay Greenberry, Houston
  • WR       Larry McDuffey, Houston
  • WR       Breshad Perriman, UCF


  • DL        Ricky Hunter, Memphis
  • DL        Christian Covington, Rice
  • DL        Derrick Alexander, Tulsa
  • DL        Deion Green, UCF
  • LB        Montese Overton, East Carolina
  • LB        D.J. Hunter, Marshall
  • LB        Trent Martin, Tulsa
  • DB       Trevon Stewart, Houston
  • DB       Shakiel Randolph, SMU
  • DB       Darion Monroe, Tulane
  • DB       Lorenzo Doss, Tulane

Special Teams

  • K          Daniel Schwarz, Tulsa
  • P          Tyler Williams, Marshall
  • KR        Autrey Golden, UTEP
  • PR        Dennis Parks, Rice
  • LS        Rey Higuera, Tulsa

Follow Us, Like Us

Fans can follow C-USA online on Twitter (@ConferenceUSA1) with the hashtag #CUSAFB, #CUSAchamp during all C-USA Championship events and on Facebook (facebook.com/ConferenceUSA).


BEEF `O' BRADY'S BOWL (St. Petersburg, Fla.)
Friday, December 21
UCF vs. Ball State (ESPN) 7 p.m. CST

Saturday, December 22
East Carolina vs. Louisiana-Lafayette (ESPN) 11 a.m. CST

SHERATON HAWAI'I BOWL (Honolulu, Hawai'i)
Monday, December 24
SMU vs. Fresno State (ESPN) 7 p.m. CST

Saturday, December 29
Rice vs. Air Force (ESPN) 10:45 a.m. CST

Monday, December 31
Tulsa vs. Iowa State (ESPN) 2:30p CST




More Headlines

Shop Now at the Official Online Store