Two C-USA Players Named Groza Award Semifinalists

Go C-USA! Cairo Santos
Cairo Santos

Nov. 5, 2012

A pair of Conference USA players have been named among the 20 semifinalists for the Lou Groza Collegiate Place Kicker Award, presented by the Palm Beach County Sports Commission. The award honors the top kicker in college football and C-USA is represented by Rice junior Chris Boswell and Tulane junior Cairo Santos.

Santos is a perfect 14-for-14 kicking field goals so far during the 2012 season, including a 9-of-9 showing from 40-plus yards and a two-for-two performance from 50-plus. He is one of three FBS kickers that have yet to miss a field goal attempt this season and his 57-yard field goal last Saturday vs. Rice was the longest in school history. In addition, Santos has kicked off 41 times for 2,624 yards (64.0 avg.) with 27 touchbacks to hold opponents to an average starting field position of their own 24-yard line.

Boswell was a semifinalist for the honor as a sophomore last season and this year has connected on 14-of-18 field goal attempts. Included in that total was a school-record 57-yard field goal at Louisiana Tech on Sept. 15. With two 50+ yard kicks this season, Boswell now has seven in his career, a new Owls record. He holds the Rice career record with 42 field goals made and is second in scoring among kickers in school history with 234 points.

Semifinalists will be voted on by the Football Bowl Subdivision head coaches and media relations contacts, along with national and regional football writers and past Groza winners to select three finalists. These finalists will be announced on Nov. 19 and honored at the 21st annual Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Awards Banquet on Dec. 4 in West Palm Beach, Fla. The winner will be announced live on the Home Depot ESPN College Football Awards Show on Dec. 6.

The award is named in honor of one of the all-time great kickers in football history, Lou Groza. Groza played 21 seasons for the Cleveland Browns where she set numerous franchise records, including most games played and points scored. At one point he scored in 107 consecutive games as was inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 1974.



Past Groza finalists include current NFL kickers Sebastian Janikowski, Nate Kaeding, Mike Nugent, Mason Crosby, Garrett Hartley, Kai Forbath, Blair Walsh, Dan Bailey and Randy Bullock.

More Headlines

Shop Now at the Official Online Store