Three C-USA Players Named Hendricks Award Candidates

Go C-USA! Jared St. John
Jared St. John

Nov. 1, 2012

Three Conference USA players have been named to the midseason watch list for the 2012 Ted Hendricks Defensive End of the Year Award, it was announced today. Memphis sophomore Martin Ifedi, SMU senior Margus Hunt and Tulsa junior Jared St. John represent C-USA on the list of 33 candidates.

The Hendricks Award will be presented to the best collegiate defensive end in the country at the conclusion of the football season. The watch list was selected by a prominent committee of coaches, national media, and sports information directors.

Ifedi currently is tied for 21st nationally and tied for third in Conference USA in quarterback sacks with a 0.88 per-game average. Ifedi has posted seven total quarterback sacks and 9.5 tackles for lost yards. Over his last four games he has registered seven sacks. Ifedi has 33 total tackles and has forced a pair of fumbles.

This season, Hunt broke the NCAA career record when he blocked his ninth career FGA in SMU's win over SFA. He now has 17 career blocked kicks (10 FGs, 7 PATs), which ties for second in NCAA history (record is 19). The seven career blocked PATs rank second in the NCAA Record Book (record is 8). Hunt has made his mark at defensive end as well and has 13.5 career sacks and 22.5 career TFL, including five sacks and six TFL's this season. He has registered 18 total tackles and six quarterback hurries in 2012.

St. John is a key part of a Tulsa pass rush that has produced a nation-leading 35 sacks this season, as he is tied for third in Conference USA with seven sacks. The former walk-on has 30 tackles (22 solo), has forced pair of fumbles and also has a fumble recovery.

Now in its eleventh season, the Ted Hendricks Award is named in honor of college football's first three-time first-team All-American. As a defensive end at the University of Miami, Ted used his agility, height and reach to block passes and kicks, force interceptions and pressure quarterbacks and running backs. He roamed the front line, read plays and blitzed on impulse, completely transforming the way the defensive end position was played. His professional career spanned 15 years and215 consecutive games. It included four Super Bowl victories, eight Pro Bowl selections and inductions into the College and Pro Football Halls of Fame. It is in the spirit of Ted Hendricks' aggressive style of play, winning attitude and determination that the Defensive End of the Year Award for college football's premier defensive end is presented.



On-field performance, exceptional winning attitude, leadership abilities, contributions to school and community and academic preparedness are some of the criteria used to determine the Award's winner. Members of the national media, head coaches, professional scouts and former winners are included in the Award's voting committee. Candidates may represent any class (Freshman through Senior) as well as any four-year NCAA accredited school. The candidate's primary position must be Defensive End. Previous recipients of the Hendricks Award include: 2002 - Terrell Suggs (Arizona State), 2003-04 - David Pollack (Georgia), 2005 - Elvis Dumervil (Louisville), 2006 - LaMarr Woodley (Michigan), 2007 - Chris Long (Virginia), 2008 - Brian Orakpo (Texas), 2009 - Jerry Hughes (TCU), 2010 - Da'Quan Bowers (Clemson) and 2011 - Whitney Mercilus (Illinois).


Jadeveon Clowney, South Carolina
Morgan Breslin, USC
Scott Crichton, Oregon State
Cornellius Carradine, Florida State
Dominique Easley, Florida
Devonte Fields, TCU
Ben Gardner, Stanford
James Gayle, Virginia Tech
Wes Horton, USC
Margus Hunt, SMU
Martin Ifedi, Memphis
Jackson Jeffcoat, Texas
Travis Johnson, San Jose State
Datone Jones, UCLA
Dion Jordan, Oregon
Demarcus Lawrence, Boise State
Corey Lemonier, Auburn
Brad Madison, Missouri
Cassius Marsh, UCLA
Kareem Martin, North Carolina
Cameron Meredith, Nebraska
Barkevious Mingo, LSU
Sam Montgomery, LSU
Damontre Moore, Texas A&M
Alex Okafor, Texas
Craig Roh, Michigan
John Simon, Ohio State
Quanterus Smith, Western Kentucky
Jared St. John, Tulsa
Stephon Tuitt, Notre Dame
Bjoern Werner, Florida State
Meshak Williams, Kansas State
Trevardo Williams, Connecticut

More Headlines

Shop Now at the Official Online Store