USM's Hrapmann Named Lou Groza Award Semifinalist

Go C-USA! Danny Hrapmann
Danny Hrapmann

Oct. 29, 2010

Southern Miss junior Danny Hrapmann (New Orleans, La.) has been named one of 20 semifinalists for the Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award presented by the Discover Orange Bowl and released by The Palm Beach County Sports Commission Friday morning.

Hrapmann has converted 16-of-17 field goals and all 24 extra-point tries in 2010 and saw a string of 17-straight field goal attempts snapped at Memphis two weeks ago that dated back to the 2009 New Orleans Bowl. Earlier this season against East Carolina, he established a school record with five field goals earning Conference USA Special Teams Player of the Week honors as well as a Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award Star of the Week.

The list of semifinalists includes seven kickers who earned the honor last season, including 2009 Lou Groza Award winner Kai Forbath of UCLA and finalist Blair Walsh of Georgia.

Semifinalists will be voted on by all Division I head coaches and sports information directors, along with national, regional and local football writers and others who will select the three (3) finalists. These finalists will be honored at the Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Awards Banquet on Dec. 7 in West Palm Beach, Fla. The winner will be announced live on the nationally televised Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show on the evening of Dec. 9.

The award is named in honor of one of the all-time great kickers in football history, Lou Groza. Groza played 21 seasons for the Cleveland Browns setting numerous franchise records, including most games played, most points scored, and an amazing 107 consecutive games in which he scored a point. The 1,608 career points he scored is still a Browns' franchise record, and he ranks third all-time in league. Groza was inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 1974.

Past Groza finalists include current NFL kickers, Nate Kaeding, Sebastian Janikowski, Mike Nugent, Jason Elam, Mason Crosby and Graham Gano.

For more information regarding the Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award and to follow the season progress, please go to Additional information can be obtained by contacting Kris Pursell, Event Manager at the Palm Beach County Sports Commission at (561) 233-3124 or



The presentation of the Lou Groza Place-Kicker Award will be featured on The Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards live on Thursday, Dec. 9 at 7 p.m. ET on ESPN. The show, hosted by ESPN's Chris Fowler, Lee Corso and Kirk Herbstreit will feature the live presentation of nine player awards, along with the recipients of Disney's Spirit Award; The Home Depot Coach of the Year Award, the NCFAA (National College Football Awards Association) Contributions to College Football Award; and student-athletes selected to the Walter Camp All-America Team. Fans can visit the show's dedicated web site at to find the latest college football awards news, including show details, previous winners, fan voting, a photo gallery and video highlights.

Here is a list of the 20 semifinalists:

Dan Bailey, Oklahoma State
Devin Barclay, Ohio State
Kyle Brotzman, Boise State
Dan Conroy, Michigan State
Derek Dimke, Illinois
Kai Forbath, UCLA
Kevin Goessling, Fresno State
Chris Hazley, Virginia Tech
Alex Henery, Nebraska
Dustin Hopkins, Florida State
Danny Hrapmann, Southern Miss
Josh Jasper, LSU
Aaron Jones, Baylor
Joe Phillips, Utah
Grant Ressel, Missouri
David Ruffer, Notre Dame
Will Snyderwine, Duke
Collin Wagner, Penn State
Blair Walsh, Georgia
Nate Whitaker, Stanford

More Headlines

Shop Now at the Official Online Store