Riley Named A Finalist For The ARA Sportsmanship Award

Go C-USA! Dominik Riley
Dominik Riley

Oct. 28, 2010

Memphis senior offensive lineman Dominik Riley is one of 10 finalists for the ARA (Awards and Recognition Association) Sportsmanship Award, which is presented to one outstanding NCAA Division I collegiate football player who best personifies the spirit of sportsmanship.

The 2010 Sportsmanship Award recipient will be chosen from the 10 finalists and announced this November.

Memphis standout running back DeAngelo Williams was the first-ever recipient of the ARA Sportsmanship Award in 2005. Other previous winners are Kansas State University tight end Jeron Mastrud (2009), Northwestern University receiver Eric Peterman (2008); Washington State quarterback Alex Brink (2007); and Rutgers University fullback Brian Leonard (2006).

"The word is getting out to a wider audience about the importance of sportsmanship as the number of candidates more than doubled from last year," said B.J. Bailey, CRS, president of ARA. "We are thrilled to be part of this groundswell of excitement over the power of sportsmanship. As the only national award that recognizes an athlete's character and leadership as it translates to sportsmanship, the ARA Sportsmanship Award was created six years ago to shed light on these positive traits."

To qualify for the award, an athlete must be a starting player or significant contributor on his team; be in good academic standing; demonstrate great respect for competitors, school, teammates and coaches; show an ability to accept victory and defeat graciously; convey a high degree of humility and integrity; and demonstrate commitment in the classroom and to the community.

The 2010 finalists, in alphabetical order, are:

Sam Acho, University of Texas
Corbin Bryant, Northwestern University
Jordan Gafford, Miami University
Scott Lewis, St. Francis University
Chima Nwachukwu, Washington State University
Christian Ponder, Florida State
Tyler Replogle, Indiana University
Dominik Riley, University of Memphis
Chris Stewart, University of Notre Dame
John Stokes, Vanderbilt University

For more details visit,



More Headlines

Shop Now at the Official Online Store