A Pair of C-USA Players Named to Bednarik Award Watch List

Go C-USA! Korey Williams
Korey Williams

Aug. 9, 2010

Two Conference USA players are listed among the preseason candidates for the 2010 Chuck Bednarik Award, given annually to the top defensive player in college football. Southern Miss senior LB Korey Williams and UCF senior DE Bruce Miller are C-USA's representatives on the preseason watch list.

Williams established a Southern Miss single-season record last season with 77 assisted tackles and led the squad in total stops with 121. He also posted 11 tackles for loss and 7.5 sacks to go along with three forced fumbles and two recoveries. He was named to the preseason All-C-USA team by the league's head coaches.

Miller was named the preseason Conference USA Defensive Player of the Year by the league's coaches after winning that award in 2009. He ranked fifth in the nation in sacks last season with 14 and tops all returning FBS players with 27 sacks and 44 tackles for loss in his career. Miller led the UCF defense to the top ranking in C-USA for a second consecutive season in 2009.

The Chuck Bednarik Award has been presented to the nation's top defensive player since 1995. Bednarik, who played collegiately at Pennsylvania and professionally for the Philadelphia Eagles, is a member of both the College Football Hall of Fame (1969) and the Pro Football Hall of Fame (1967).

Defensive tackle Ndamukong Suh from the University of Nebraska was awarded the 15th Chuck Bednarik Award for his outstanding performance during the 2009 season. He was selected by the Detroit Lions with the second overall selection in this past April's NFL Draft.

Semifinalists for the Maxwell and Bednarik Awards will be announced on November 8th and three finalists for each award will be announced November 22nd. The winners of the 2010 Maxwell and Bednarik Awards will be announced as part of the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show which will be held on December 9, 2010. The formal presentation of these awards will be made at the Maxwell Football Club Awards Gala hosted by Harrah's Entertainment Atlantic City on March 4, 2011.



The watch list candidates have been chosen by the Maxwell Football Club's Selection Committee and the Maxwell Club reserves the right to make additions and subtractions to these lists as the 2010 season unfolds. All members of the Maxwell Football Club, NCAA Sports Information Directors, Head Coaches and selected national media are eligible to vote for these awards.

2010 Bednarik Award Watch List
Player	School	Pos.	Yr.
Acho, Sam	Texas	DE	Sr.
Amukamara, Prince	Nebraska	CB	Sr.
Austin, Marvin	North Carolina	DT	Sr.
Ayers, Akeem	UCLA	LB	Jr.
Bailey, Allen	Miami	DE	Sr.
Barron, Mark	Alabama	S	Jr.
Beal, Jeremy	Oklahoma	DE	Sr.
Black, Ahmad	Florida	S	Sr.
Borland, Chris	Wisconsin	LB	So.
Burfict, Vontaze	Arizona State	LB	So.
Burney, Kendric	North Carolina	CB	Sr.
Bynes, Josh	Auburn	LB	Sr.
Carder, Tank	TCU	LB	Jr.
Casey, Jurrell	USC	DT	Jr.
Clayborn, Adrian	Iowa	DE	Sr.
Crawford, Jack	Penn State	DE	Jr.
Crick, Jared	Nebraska	DT	Jr.
Dareus, Marcell	Alabama	DE	Jr.
Dowling, Ras-I	Virginia	CB	Sr.
Foster, Mason	Washington	LB	Sr.
Gilmore, Stephon	South Carolina	CB	So.
Harris, Brandon	Miami	CB	Jr.
Herzlich, Mark	Boston College	LB	Sr.
Heyward, Cameron	Ohio State	DE	Sr.
Hightower, Dont'a	Alabama	LB	Jr.
Homan, Ross	Ohio State	LB	Sr.
Houston, Justin	Georgia	LB	Jr.
Jones, Greg	Michigan State	LB	Sr.
Kerrigan, Ryan	Purdue	DE	Sr.
Kuechly, Luke	Boston College	LB	So.
Lewis, Travis	Oklahoma	LB	Jr.
McCarthy, Colin	Miami	LB	Sr.
McDaniel, DeAndre	Clemson	S	Sr.
McNary, Josh	Army	DE	Sr.
McPhee, Pernell	Mississippi State	DE	Sr.
Miller, Bruce	UCF	DE	Sr.
Miller, Von	Texas A&M	LB	Sr.
Moch, Dontay	Nevada	DE	Sr.
Mohamed, Mike	Cal	LB	Sr.
Moore, Rahim	UCLA	S	Jr.
Paea, Stephen	Oregon State	DT	Sr.
Peterson, Patrick	LSU	CB	Jr.
Powe, Jerrell	Ole Miss	DT	Sr.
Quinn, Robert	North Carolina	DE	Jr.
Robinson, Adrian	Temple	DE	Jr.
Romeus, Greg	Pittsburgh	DE	Sr.
Rowe, Kenny	Oregon	DE	Sr.
Sands, Robert	West Virginia	S	Jr.
Sash, Tyler	Iowa	S	Jr.
Sheppard, Kelvin	LSU	LB	Sr.
Smith, Aldon	Missouri	DE	So.
Smith, Derrell	Syracuse	LB	Sr.
Te'o, Manti	Notre Dame	LB	So.
Wade, Trevin	Arizona	CB	Jr.
Watt, J.J.	Wisconsin	DE	Jr.
Williams, Aaron	Texas	CB	Jr.
Williams, Korey	Southern Miss	LB	Jr.
Wilson, Lawrence	Connecticut	LB	Sr.
Winterswyk, Ryan	Boise State	DE	Sr.
Wujciak, Alex	Maryland	LB	Sr.

More Headlines

Shop Now at the Official Online Store