2005 Kelly Tires Conference USA Men's Basketball Tournament - Championship



2005 Kelly Tires Conference USA Men's Basketball Tournament - Championship

Tournament Champion Louisville
  • Bracket (.PDF)
  • C-USA Tournament Stats (.PDF)

  • Tournament Information (box scores, game stories, notes and quotes)

    Memphis freshman guard Darius Washington Jr. went to the free throw line with no time left in the game and the Tigers down by two, but he only hit one of three free throws as top-seeded Louisville escaped with a 75-74 victory over No. 7 Memphis in the Kelly Tires Conference USA Men's Basketball Tournament championship game at the FedexForum. The Cardinals broke a championship game record with 15 three pointers (15-for-23), which also tied the record for most three pointers in any C-USA Tournament game. Francisco Garcia was 5-for-8 from behind the arc to tie a championship game record for three-pointers in a game and finished with a team-high 19 points. Juan Palacios registered a double-double with 14 points and 11 rebounds. Washington led Memphis with 23 points, while Anthony Rice matched his career high with 20 points. Louisville's Taquan Dean was named tournament MVP. The Cardinals win their second C-USA Tournament and earn the automatic bid to the NCAA Tournament.

    Louisville became the first C-USA school other than Cincinnati to win the regular season and tournament titles in the same season. The Bearcats have accomplished the feat four times: 1996, 1998, 2002 and 2004. Three of those tournaments were held in Cincinnati, with the 1996 tournament being played in Memphis.

    2005 Kelly Tires Conference USA Men?s Basketball Tournament

    FedExForum; Memphis, Tenn.
    Wednesday-Saturday, March 9-12

    Wednesday, March 9

    Game One ? (8) TCU 60, (9) Marquette 57 (OT)
    Game Two ? (5) DePaul 81, (12) Tulane 71
    Game Three ? (7) Memphis 79, (10) Saint Louis 59
    Game Four ? (11) USF 69, (6) Houston 64

    Thursday, March 10
    Game One ? (1) Louisville 85, TCU 61
    Game Two ? UAB 59, DePaul 56
    Game Three ? Memphis 81, (2) Charlotte 66
    Game Four ? USF 80, (3) Cincinnati 68

    Friday, March 11
    Game Nine ? Semifinal No. 1 - Louisville 74, UAB 67
    Game 10 - Semifinal No. 2 - Memphis 81, USF 68

    Saturday, March 12
    Game 11 ? Louisville 75, Memphis 74

    All-Tournament Team
    Taquan Dean, Louisville*
    Francisco Garcia, Louisville
    Terrence Leather, USF
    Anthony Rice, Memphis
    Darius Washington, Memphis

    * Tournament MVP



  • More Headlines

    Shop Now at the Official Online Store