C-USA Men's Basketball Championship Pairings

Go C-USA! Haskins Center
Haskins Center

March 6, 2014

ChampionshipBracket Get Acrobat Reader

2014 C-USA Men's Basketball Championship Information

After taking a share of its second straight regular season conference championship in its first year as a member of Conference USA, Louisiana Tech will be the No. 1 seed at the 2014 Conference USA Men's Basketball Championship, March 11-15 at the Don Haskins Center in El Paso, Texas. The Bulldogs shared the C-USA regular season title with Tulsa, Middle Tennessee and Southern Miss. The four-way tie marked just the third time in the league's 19-year history that multiple teams tied for the regular season men's basketball crown and the first time since five schools shared the title in 2004.

As the top four seeds, Louisiana Tech (26-5), Tulsa (18-12), Middle Tennessee (23-8) and Southern Miss (26-5) will have double byes into the quarterfinal round on Thursday.

Louisiana Tech earns a share of a regular season conference title for the second straight season. Tulsa earned its first regular season conference co-championship since sharing the 2002 Western Athletic Conference title. Middle Tennessee gains at least a share of a conference championship for the third straight season and four out of five. Southern Miss is regular season co-champions for the first time since splitting the C-USA crown with Cincinnati in 2001.

Tuesday's three first-round match-ups feature: No. 10 North Texas vs. No. 15 Rice at 3:30 p.m. MDT, No. 11 Florida Atlantic vs. No. 14 Marshall at 6 p.m. MDT and No. 12 East Carolina vs. No. 13 UTSA at 8:30 p.m. MDT. Rice won the regular season meeting with North Texas, Florida Atlantic defeated Marshall and East Carolina downed UTSA, with all three games taking place the first week of February. All three match-ups will be taking place for the first time in C-USA Championship play.

Second-round action begins Wednesday at Noon MDT with No. 7 Tulane facing the winner of the North Texas-Rice contest. Sixth-seeded Old Dominion, which has increased its win total by 10 games from last season, will take on the winner of Florida Atlantic-Marshall at 2:30 p.m. MDT. The 6 p.m. MDT game will feature host UTEP playing either East Carolina or UTSA. Wednesday's action will conclude at 8:30 p.m. MDT when UAB and Charlotte square off, as the 49ers return to C-USA Championship play for the first time since 2005. This will be the fifth C-USA Championship meeting between the Blazers and 49ers.

In Thursday's quarterfinal round, second-seeded Tulsa will take on the remaining team among North Texas, Rice and Tulane at 12 p.m. and No. 3 Middle Tennessee will face the survivor among Florida Atlantic, Marshall and Old Dominion beginning at 2:30 p.m. Fourth-seeded Southern Miss will battle either East Carolina, UTSA or UTEP at 6 p.m. MDT and then top seed Louisiana Tech will face the winner of Charlotte-UAB at 8:30 p.m.

2014 Conference USA Championship Schedule
Don Haskins Center, El Paso, Texas

Tuesday, March 11
(10) North Texas vs. (15) Rice (C-USADN) 3:30p
(11) Florida Atlantic vs. (14) Marshall (C-USADN) 6:00p
(12) East Carolina vs. (13) UTSA (C-USADN) 8:30p

Wednesday, March 12
North Texas/Rice vs. (7) Tulane (C-USADN) 12:00p
FAU/Marshall vs. (6) Old Dominion (C-USADN) 2:30p
ECU/UTSA vs. (5) UTEP (C-USADN) 6:00p
(9) Charlotte vs. (8) UAB (C-USADN) 8:30p

Thursday, March 13
UNT/Rice/Tulane vs. (2) Tulsa (C-USADN) 12:00p
FAU/MAR/ODU vs. (3) Middle Tennessee (C-USADN) 2:30p
ECU/UTSA/UTEP vs. (4) Southern Miss (C-USADN) 6:00p
UAB/Charlotte vs. (1) Louisiana Tech (C-USADN) 8:30p

Friday, March 14
Semifinal # 1 (CBS Sports Network) 2:00p
Semifinal # 2 (CBS Sports Network) 4:30p

Saturday, March 15
Championship Game (CBS) 9:35a




More Headlines

Shop Now at the Official Online Store