Reynolds Named To Stopper-of-the-Year Watch List

Go C-USA! Junior Drew Reynolds
Junior Drew Reynolds

Feb. 8, 2013

IRVING, Texas - East Carolina's Drew Reynolds is one of three Conference USA relief pitchers named to the initial NCBWA Stopper-of-the-Year Award, given to the nation's top collegiate baseball reliever. Joining Reynolds from C-USA are Southern Miss' Bradley Roney and Tulane's Alex Facundus.

Reynolds, a preseason First-Team All C-USA selection by the leagues coaches, was a finalist for the John Olerud Two-Way Player-of-the-Year Award a year ago. The Cherryville, N.C. native led the team with 10 saves posting a 3-0 record in 21 appearances and sporting a 3.00 ERA.

At the plate, he ranked second on the team with a .330 batting average in 54 games. Reynolds started 48 games as the Pirates designated hitter, where he belted three home runs, drove in 24 and scored 31 runs. The junior utility man earned Second-Team All C-USA honors and closed out the season ranking among the league leaders in saves (fourth) and batting average (10th).

Reynolds and the Pirates will open the 2013 season next Friday, Feb. 15 at home when they play host to nationally ranked Virginia at Lewis Field inside Clark-LeClair Stadium. First pitch is scheduled for 3 p.m. (EST).

Reynolds' Preseason Honors

  • First-Team All C-USA (league coaches)
  • First-Team All C-USA by CollegeSportsMadness
  • NCBWA Stopper-of-the-Year Watch List
  • Listed as best player in C-USA by College Baseball Today


Nominations for the NCBWA Stopper-of-the-Year Award were made by baseball sports information/media relations contacts. The initial list will be updated with a mid-season release the week of April 16, including the national saves leaders. At the conclusion of the regular season, the Division I national saves leader and four other relief pitching standouts will be selected as finalists and released Wednesday, June 5, prior to start of NCAA Super Regional tournament competition.



From the list of finalists, the NCBWA's All-America Committee will select a winner. The ninth annual winner will be announced in Omaha on Saturday, June 15, the opening day of the College World Series.

Texas hurler J. Brent Cox won the inaugural Stopper of the Year Award in 2005, with Don Czyz of Kansas claiming the honor in 2006 and Luke Prihoda of Sam Houston State winning it in 2007. Georgia's Joshua Fields topped the field in 2008, San Diego State's Addison Reed grabbed the honor in 2009 and Texas' Chance Ruffin earned the honor in 2010. Corey Knebel won in 2011 with Southeastern Louisiana's Stefan Lopez picking up the honor in 2012.

The NCBWA, founded in 1962, presents the Dick Howser Trophy to the nation's top player. It also selects All-America Teams for all Divisions, a Division I Freshman All-American team, Division I and III Players of the Week, Division I District Players of the Year and Division III Players of the Year.

More Headlines

Shop Now at the Official Online Store