Three C-USA Pitchers Named to NCBWA Stopper of the Year Watch List

Go C-USA! Bradley Roney
Bradley Roney

Feb. 8, 2013

NCBWAPreseasonWatchListRelease Get Acrobat Reader

Three Conference USA relief pitchers have been named to the preseason watch list for the NCBWA Stopper of the Year Award, given to the nation's top collegiate baseball reliever. East Carolina junior right-hander Drew Reynolds, Southern Miss sophomore right-hander Bradley Roney and Tulane senior right-hander Alex Facundus are C-USA's representatives on the watch list.

Reynolds, a finalist for the 2012 John Olerud Two-Way Player-of-the-Year Award, ranked second on the team with a .330 batting average in 54 games. On the mound, he led the team with 10 saves posting a 3-0 record in 21 appearances and sporting a 3.00 ERA. The junior utility man earned second team All-C-USA honors and closed out the season ranking among the league leaders in saves (fourth) and batting average (10th).

Roney, who also plays in the Golden Eagle infield was chosen as the preseason relief pitcher after posting the most saves by a Golden Eagle freshman in 2012 (11). He ended the year with a 2-1 record and a 2.42 ERA, fanning 26 batters in 26 innings of work and allowed opponents to hit just .200 off of him during the campaign.

Facundus made 25 relief appearances last season (second on the team), posting a 1.98 ERA in 36.1 innings pitched. He finished 3-2 with one save, notching 29 strikeouts and walking just 12 batters. Facundus totaled 18 scoreless outings, including 12 in a row during one stretch.

Nominations for the NCBWA Stopper of the Year Award were made by baseball sports information/media relations contacts. The initial list will be updated with a mid-season release the week of April 16, including the national saves leaders. At the conclusion of the regular season, the Division I national saves leader and four other relief pitching standouts will be selected as finalists and released Wednesday, June 5, prior to start of NCAA Super Regional tournament competition.

From the list of finalists, the NCBWA's All-America Committee will select a winner. The ninth annual winner will be announced in Omaha on Saturday, June 15, the opening day of the College World Series.

Texas hurler J. Brent Cox won the inaugural Stopper of the Year Award in 2005, with Don Czyz of Kansas claiming the honor in 2006 and Luke Prihoda of Sam Houston State winning it in 2007. Georgia's Joshua Fields topped the field in 2008, San Diego State's Addison Reed grabbed the honor in 2009 and Texas' Chance Ruffin earned the honor in 2010. Corey Knebel won in 2011 with Southeastern Louisiana's Stefan Lopez picking up the honor in 2012.

The NCBWA, founded in 1962, presents the Dick Howser Trophy to the nation's top player. It also selects All-America Teams for all Divisions, a Division I Freshman All-American team, Division I and III Players of the Week, Division I District Players of the Year and Division III Players of the Year.



More Headlines

Shop Now at the Official Online Store