2012 C-USA Cross Country Athletes of the Year Announced

Go C-USA! <blank>


Nov. 29, 2012

IRVING, Texas - For the fourth time in Conference USA history, one program has swept Cross Country Athletes of the Year honors. UTEP All-Americans RISPER KIMAIYO and ANTHONY ROTICH collect this year's honors voted upon by the league's head coaches and released by the conference office Thursday. The Miners also earned both awards in 2010 while TCU (2001) and Tulane (1998) did so as well.

Kimaiyo (Iten, Kenya) finished fifth at the NCAA Championships posting a personal-best of 19:41.0 in the elite 6K race. The senior became the first woman in program and Conference USA history to receive four cross country All-American honors, win three-straight NCAA Mountain Region Championships titles and three C-USA individual medalist honors. She was named C-USA Outstanding Senior of the Meet after clocking a then personal-best 5K time of 16:42.8. Kimaiyo is also a C-USA All-Academic honoree.

Rotich (Eldoret, Kenya) was the first freshman to cross the finish line at the 2012 NCAA Championships. He covered the 10K course in a time of 29:13.5, finishing fourth overall and becoming the first Miner to meet this feat since 1983. Rotich took second place at the NCAA Mountain Region Championships after dominating the C-USA Championship with an 8K time of 23:32, earning him Freshman of the Meet honors. He registered a personal-best and winning 8K time of 23:01 at the NCAA Pre-National meet.

2012 Anthony Rotich, UTEP
2011 Justice Chirchir, UTEP
2010 Elkana Rotich, UTEP
2009 John Beattie, Tulsa
2008 John Beattie, Tulsa
2007 Stephen Samoei, UTEP
2006 Stephen Samoei, UTEP
2005 Stephen Samoei, UTEP
2004 Ed Schlichter, Charlotte
Sesar Figueroa, Houston
2003 Kyle MacKenzie, East Carolina
2002 Andrew Smith, USF
2001 Eliud Njubi, TCU
2000 Solomon Kandie, Tulane
1999 Paul Kemei, Southern Miss
1998 Amos Kipygeon, Tulane
1997 Amos Kipygeon, Tulane
1996 Jeremy Bucher, Cincinnati
1995 Chad Disbennett, Cincinnati



2012 Risper Kimaiyo, UTEP
2011 Silje Fjortoft, SMU
2010 Risper Kimaiyo, UTEP
2009 Risper Kimaiyo, UTEP
2008 Silje Fjortoft, SMU
2007 Alex Becker, Tulsa
2006 Rachel Forish, SMU
2005 Elizabeth Ambrus, UAB
2004 Christa Benton, USF
2003 Mary Kinyanjui, TCU
2002 Erin Moffett, DePaul
2001 Gladys Keitany, TCU
2000 Theresa Maru, Marquette
1999 Hanne Lyngstad, Tulane
1998 Hanne Lyngstad, Tulane
1997 Amy Erickson, Marquette
1996 Bettina Bard, Louisville
1995 Molly Kerin, Charlotte

More Headlines

Shop Now at the Official Online Store