Cross Country All-Academic Teams Announced

Go C-USA! Stephanie Ledgerwood, Southern Miss
Stephanie Ledgerwood, Southern Miss

Nov. 12, 2012

IRVING, Texas - A total of 15 student-athletes have been named to the 2012 Conference USA All-Academic Cross Country Teams, as selected by the league's sports information directors for the sport. The all-academic teams consist of student-athletes who have earned a 3.2 cumulative grade point average or better and are a key member on their team.

Five seniors, four juniors and six sophomores make up the two honorary lists. The men's all-academic team is comprised of eight honorees while the women's is made up of seven, instead of six, due to ties for the final spots.

On the women's team, senior STEPHANIE LEDGERWOOD of Southern Miss is the only repeat selection from a year ago. She placed third overall at the 2012 C-USA Championship with a personal-best time of 16:56.9, earning All-C-USA first team honors. Also collecting first team accolades and earning all-academic merits were East Carolina's BJORK OLSEN and RISPER KIMAIYO.

Olsen finished seventh at the conference meet with a personal-best time of 17:17.8, becoming the second ECU runner to be named to the All-C-USA first-team. She has appeared on two C-USA Academic Medal lists and Conference USA Commissioner's Honor Rolls.

Kimaiyo capped off a stellar C-USA career by winning her third (2012, 2010, 2009) Individual Medalist honor. She clocked a personal-best of 16:42.8, earning her Outstanding Senior of the Meet honors. Kimaiyo is a three-time USTFCCA All-Academic selection as well as the 2011 C-USA Spirit of Service Award Winner.

Memphis and Rice led the way on the men's side with three honorees each. For the fourth consecutive season, seniors MATT CAREY and GABE CUADRA have earned C-USA All-Academic merits. Junior JAMES MAGLASANG of Memphis appears on his second all-academic team.

Carey is a four-time C-USA Commissioner's Honor Roll member and Academic Medalist as well as being named C-USA Scholar Athlete of the Year. He has appeared on the CoSIDA Academic All-District VI team twice. Carey placed 31st at the 2012 C-USA Championship with a time of 25.56.2.



Cuadra was named to the All-C-USA Cross Country second team with an eighth-place finish at the conference meet. He crossed the finish line in a time of 24:34.2. Cuadra has appeared on numerous C-USA Commissioner's and Rice's Honor Rolls.

Maglasang received All-C-USA second team honors and was the top finisher for Memphis at this year's C-USA Cross Country Championship with a 13th-place time of 25:02.70. He is a two-time C-USA Commissioner's Honor Roll selection.


Bjork OlsenEast CarolinaJunior3.98Public Health Studies
Meagan NicholsMemphisJunior4.00Journalism
Farrah MadanayRiceRS Sophomore4.00Art History, Religious Studies
**Stephanie LedgerwoodSouthern MissSenior3.93Forensics Science
Jocelyn LockhartSouthern MissSenior4.00International Business
Brandi KriegTulsaSophomore3.893Athletic Training
Risper KimaiyoUTEPSenior3.56Pre-Nursing


**James MaglasangMemphisJunior3.52Biomedical Engineering
Austin CarterMemphisSophomore3.91Mechanical Engineering
Daniel KuhmanMemphisSophomore3.79Undecided
****Matt CareyRiceSenior4.24Economics (Pre-med)
****Gabe CuadraRiceSenior3.74Mathematical Economic Analysis
Wyatt DoopRiceJunior3.79Chemical & Bio Molecular Engineering
Mark ManionTulaneSophomore3.532Environmental Biology
Tim RackersTulsaSophomore3.909Mechanical Engineering

*repeat honorees

More Headlines

Shop Now at the Official Online Store