O'Hare Named Indoor Scholar Athlete of the Year

Go C-USA! Chris O'Hare
Chris O'Hare

July 24, 2012

Irving, Texas - Tulsa's Chris O'Hare has been named the Indoor Scholar Athlete of the Year in Division I for the 2012 men's track & field seasons by the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA). The group represents collegiate track & field's best in both athletics and academics. In addition, 431 student-athletes were tapped as USTFCCCA All-Academic honorees, 18 were from Conference USA. This honor marks a first for C-USA Track & Field.

After becoming the school's first national track champion, O'Hare was named the Conference USA Indoor Male Track Athlete of the Year for the second-consecutive season. This honor also marks the fourth consecutive year a Tulsa runner has earned this award. A native of Edinburgh, Scotland, O'Hare won his first national title in the mile at the 2012 NCAA Championships. He broke the facility record with a mark of 4:01.66 and was named a first team USTFCCCA All-American. He also won both the 800 meters and the mile at the Conference USA Championship and he has still yet to lose a race at the league meet in his three years. O'Hare owns the school record in three distances: the 800, 1000 and mile. He also received the C-USA Winter Spirit of Service Award and carried a 3.65 cumulative GPA through the spring semester.

The USTFCCCA Scholar Athlete of the Year Award is determined from among those who earned All-Academic status and placed highest in individual events at the most recent NCAA Championships. Those who earn multiple individual championship titles rank higher in the tie-breaking process, and cumulative GPA is weighed as the final tiebreaker to establish a winner. Separate awards are given to track athletes and field athletes for the indoor and outdoor seasons, resulting in four categories.

In addition to the Scholar Athletes of the Year, the USTFCCCA announced the men's 2012 Division I All-Academic Track & Field team. A total of 431 student-athletes representing 148 institutions compose the group. Tulsa lead the C-USA field with seven named to the All-Academic Team. Following the Golden Hurricane is East Carolina (3), Southern Miss (3) UTEP (3), Houston (1) and Memphis (1).



To qualify for the USTFCCCA All-Academic Track and Field Team, the student-athlete must have compiled a cumulative grade point average of 3.25 and have met either of the following athletic standards: for the indoor season, a student-athlete must have finished the regular season ranked in the national top 96 in an individual event or ranked in the national top 48 (collective listing) in a relay event on the official NCAA POP list provided by TFRRS.org; for the outdoor season, a student-athlete must have participated in any round of the NCAA Division I Championships (including preliminary rounds).

C-USA Men's USTFCCCA 2012 Division I Track & Field All-Academic Honorees

Dennis Aliotta	East Carolina
Stephen Hodapp	East Carolina
Jakub Trzasalski	East Carolina
John Fortune	Houston
Tom Willcox	Memphis
Richard Collingwood	Southern Miss
Robert Collingwood	Southern Miss
Dale Dunn	Southern Miss
Julian Frazier	Tulsa
Andrew Heyes	Tulsa
Bill Martin	Tulsa
Sam Masters	Tulsa
Chris O'Hare	Tulsa
Paulo Pinheiro	Tulsa
Carl Stones	Tulsa
Solomon Gardea	UTEP
Kyron Joseph	UTEP
Richard Olsson	UTEP

More Headlines

Shop Now at the Official Online Store