C-USA Indoor Track & Field Top Individual Awards

Go C-USA! ECU's Tynita Butts became the first field athlete in league history to participate in four consecutive NCAA Championships.
ECU's Tynita Butts became the first field athlete in league history to participate in four consecutive NCAA Championships.

March 20, 2013

IRVING, Texas - Four new faces have been honored as the 2013 Conference USA Indoor Track and Field Athletes of the Year. Aurieyall Scott of UCF and Errol Nolan of Houston won national titles en route to earning C-USA Female and Male Track Athletes of the Year, respectively. East Carolina swept the Field Athlete of the Year honors as seniors Tynita Butts and Montrell Morrow wrapped up impressive careers for the Pirate programs.

All four awards were announced by the league office Wednesday and voted upon by the head track and field coaches.

Scott (Greenbelt, Md.) became UCF's first NCAA champion of any sport by matching her NCAA-leading time and school record 7.13 in the women's 60-meter dash final. She also picked up a silver medal at nationals in the 200m clocking 22.71. Scott won gold in the 60M, 200M and 4x400 Relay at the C-USA Indoor Championships in February. The junior has been recognized as a USTFCCCA National Athlete of the Week and a two-time C-USA Track Athlete of the Week as well as appear on the prestigious The Bowerman Watch List. She won six-of-seven finals this season at both 60M and 200M. With 11 All-American honors to her name, she is UCF's most decorated student-athlete.

Nolan (Rosenberg, Texas) ended his collegiate indoor career with a national title in the men's 400m at the NCAA Championships with a time of 45.75. In the preliminary round, he topped his competition after running a school-record-breaking time of 45.72. At the conference meet, he took home the gold in the men's 200- and 400-meters for the third straight year. Along with these accolades, the three-time All-American was a member of the Jamaican 4x400 relay team at 2012 London Olympics.

Butts became the first field athlete in league history to participate in four consecutive NCAA Championships, while Morrow appeared in back-to-back national meets.

Butts (Alexandria, Va.) earned her fifth All-America selection after finishing second in the high jump at the NCAA Indoor Championships as she tied her career-best and school-record mark of 1.90m (6-02.75"). She also won her third consecutive gold medal in the same event at the C-USA Championships with a clearance of 1.86m (6-00.00") in the high jump. Early in the season, Butts established her career- and school-record mark of 1.90m (6-02.75") at the Penn State National, which ranked second in the nation at the time of the meet. That performance earned her C-USA Co-Female Athlete of the Week (J29).



Morrow (Burlington, N.C.) appeared in his second consecutive NCAA Championship after winning his second C-USA men's weight throw title with a mark of 19.95m (65-05.50") in as many years. He followed that performance with a season-best mark of 21.00m (68-10.75") in the same event at the Alex Wilson Invitational at Notre Dame for a first-place finish.

2013 Errol Nolan, Houston
2012 Chris O'Hare, Tulsa
2011 Chris O'Hare, Tulsa
2010 John Beattie, Tulsa
2009 Mark Davidson, Tulsa

2013 Aurieyall Scott, UCF
2012 Octavious Freeman, UCF
2011 Jackie Coward, UCF
2010 Blessing Okagbare, UTEP
2009 Lennie Waite, Rice

2013 Montrell Morrow, East Carolina
2012 Clayton Chaney, Rice
2011 Chris Carter, Houston
2010 Steffen Nerdal, Memphis
2009 Jason Colwick, Rice

2013 Tynita Butts, East Carolina
2012 Tori Bowie, Southern Miss
2011 Tori Bowie, Southern Miss
2010 Blessing Okagbare, UTEP
2009 Dione Thomas, UCF

2008 Ivan Diggs, Houston
2007 Mickael Hanany, UTEP
2006 Mickael Hanany, UTEP
2005 LaShawn Merritt, East Carolina
2004 Stanford Routt, Houston
2003 Jackson Langat, TCU
2002 Eliud Njubi, TCU
2001 Kenneth Svendsen, Charlotte
2000 Rephel Martin, Charlotte
1999 Dennis Darling, Houston

2008 Gloria Asumnu, Tulane
2007 Ebonie Floyd, Houston
2006 Jenny Holmroos, UTEP
2005 Cassie Ficken, Charlotte
2004 Dayana Octavien, USF
2003 Brianna Dahm, Marquette
2002 Shola Kadiri, Louisville
2001 Jenny Adams, Houston & Kerine Black, USF
2000 Jenny Adams, Houston
1999 Kerine Black, USF
1998 Jenny Adams, Houston
1997 Alison Lambert, Tulane
1996 Vonette Jeffery, UAB

More Headlines

Shop Now at the Official Online Store