Athletics News

Conference USA Scholar-Athlete Awards Announced

Go C-USA! Rice senior Connor Frizzelle was one of two repeat winners this season.
Rice senior Connor Frizzelle was one of two repeat winners this season.

July 19, 2012

IRVING, Texas - Conference USA Commissioner Britton Banowsky announced today the recipients of the 2011-12 Scholar Athlete of the Year Awards, which are determined by the league's Faculty Athletics Representatives. The C-USA Scholar Athlete of the Year awards are presented to the top student-athletes in each conference-sponsored sport. The award is based on academic achievement (GPA), athletic achievement and service.

Complete Scholar-Athlete Award Winners Release Get Acrobat Reader

Scholar-athletes were selected from C-USA's 12 institutions and 20 sports (combining indoor and outdoor track & field). Rice senior men's basketball player Connor Frizzelle and UCF rower Chelsey Lauzon were repeat winners from 2010-11. Women's basketball players Roxana Button of Houston and TaRonda Randall of UAB, East Carolina women's soccer player Kimmy Cummings and Rice track & field student-athlete Becky Wade of Rice were also recipients of the C-USA Postgraduate Scholarship Award. Please see below for the complete list:

Baseball - Keith DePew, UAB
Men's Basketball - *Connor Frizzelle, Rice
Women's Basketball - Roxana Button, Houston/TaRonda Randall, UAB
Men's Cross Country - Bill Martin, Tulsa
Women's Cross Country - Rhiannon Johns, UAB
Football - Case Keenum, Houston/Matthew Milner, East Carolina
Men's Golf - Jack Belote, Memphis
Women's Golf - Marissa Steen, Memphis
Women's Rowing - *Chelsey Lauzon, UCF
Men's Soccer - Adam Still, SMU
Women's Soccer - Kimberly "Kimmy" Cummings, East Carolina
Softball - Natalie Land, UCF
Women's Swimming & Diving - Denisa Smolenova, SMU
Men's Tennis - Sam Garforth-Bles, Rice/Clifford Marsland, Tulsa
Women's Tennis - Courtney Collins, Memphis
Men's Track and Field - Carl Stones, Tulsa
Women's Track and Field - Rebecca "Becky" Wade, Rice
Volleyball - Kelsey Seymour, Southern Miss

* Repeat winner

More Headlines

Shop Now at the Official Online Store