Athletics News

Conference USA Scholar Athlete Awards Announced

Go C-USA! <blank>


July 11, 2013

IRVING, Texas - Conference USA Commissioner Britton Banowsky announced today the recipients of the 2012-13 Scholar Athlete of the Year Awards, which are determined by the league's Faculty Athletics Representatives. The C-USA Scholar Athlete of the Year awards are presented to the top student-athletes in each conference-sponsored sport. The award is based on academic achievement (GPA), athletic achievement and service.

Complete Scholar Athlete Release Get Acrobat Reader

Scholar-athletes were selected from C-USA's full-time and affiliate institutions in 20 sports (combining indoor and outdoor track & field). Tennis players Cliff Marsland of Tulsa and Courtney Collins of Memphis were repeat winners from 2011-12. UTEP's Risper Kimaiyo was named a C-USA Scholar-Athlete in 2010-11. UAB senior track & field student-athlete Rhiannon Johns was also a repeat recipient, but represented women's cross country a year ago. Please see below for the complete list:


Baseball - Sam Moll, Memphis
Men's Basketball - Austin Ramljak, Rice
Women's Basketball - Amber Jones, UAB
Men's Cross Country - Gabriel Cuadra, Rice
Women's Cross Country - Stephanie Ledgerwood, Southern Miss / *Risper Kimaiyo, UTEP
Football - Jared St. John, Tulsa
Men's Golf - Grant Milner, Memphis
Women's Golf - Fanny Wolte, East Carolina
Women's Rowing - Nicole Furmanek, Oklahoma
Men's Soccer - Mark Sherrod, Memphis
Women's Soccer - Claire Hulcer, Tulsa
Softball - Jillian Jelnick, East Carolina
Women's Swimming & Diving - Kylee Talwar, Rice
Men's Tennis - *Cliff Marsland, Tulsa
Women's Tennis - *Courtney Collins, Memphis
Men's Track & Field - Richard Collingwood, Southern Miss
Women's Track & Field - *Rhiannon Johns, UAB
Volleyball - Samantha Serley, UAB

* Repeat winner

More Headlines

Shop Now at the Official Online Store