2006 C-USA Football Championship presented by Aeropostale

Southern Miss at Houston

Press Conference Quotes

Date: December 1, 2006
Time: 8 p.m. ET/7:00 p.m. CT

Championship Information

Tickets are now available for the 2006 C-USA Football Championship. For more information, click on Tickets in the Info Center. To purchase tickets by phone, call 713-GO-COOGS (Houston) or 800-844-TICK (Southern Miss) or to purchase tickets online, click here (Houston) or here (Southern Miss)

Televised by: ESPN2

After a successful debut of its first football championship in conference history in 2005, Conference USA will host its second title game in 2006. The event is slated for Friday, December 1 and will be televised by ESPN. The team with the highest Conference winning percentage will serve as the host site for the game.

The game will feature champions from the East and West Division of the league. East Carolina, Marshall, Memphis, Southern Miss, UAB and UCF will compete in the East, while Houston, Rice, SMU, Tulane, Tulsa and UTEP will contend in the West.

C-USA held its inaugural football championship in 2005 at the Citrus Bowl in Orlando, Fla. The game featured a match-up between East champion UCF and West champion Tulsa on ESPN with more than 50,000 fans in attendance. Tulsa prevailed, 44-27, in front of the UCF record-setting crowd.

Home field for the C-USA Championship Game will be awarded to the team that posts the highest regular season winning percentage against conference opposition. The first tiebreaker is the winner of a head-to-head match-up. If the two teams did not play during the regular season, the team with the highest BCS ranking would receive the nod.

Members of the media that wish to cover the C-USA Championship Game will be required to request credentials through the league's online credentialapplication system available at Center. Details about the C-USA Championship Game will be available throughout the season on For additional information, please contact C-USA Media Relations at 214-774-1300.


East CarolinaDowdy-Ficklen (43,000)
HoustonRobertson (32,000)
MarshallJoan C. Edwards (38,019)
MemphisLiberty Bowl Memorial (62,380)
RiceRice (70,000)
SMUGerald J. Ford (32,000)
Southern MissM.M. Roberts (33,000)
TulaneLouisiana Superdome (64,900)
TulsaSkelly (35,542)
UABLegion Field (72,000)
UCFFlorida Citrus Bowl (65,438)
UTEPSun Bowl (51,500)
Info Center

More Headlines

Shop Now at the Official Online Store